Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very good recipe! Very easy to make. I left out the currants because my grocer was out. I added more hot sauce and served it on a warm tortilla with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was my first try at mole and my we loved this recipe! I added an extra cup of water at the end of the cooking time along with a few smoky dried ancho chilies and cinnamon sticks. I served it with garlic rice and it was a very satisfying low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Nice recipe, easy to follow and the flavour was very nice. Used chipolte powder instead of ancho, and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I loved it, but I am a chocolate and cinnamon addict! I have never made a mole sauce before, so am not the best judge. However, I admit to a major embarrassment: Once I began cooking I discovered I had NO chocolate powder and even NO mexican chocolate (that I often use in my chili recipes). So, I got really creative and daring and I added, you guessed it, some Hershey's chocolate syrup!!!! I know...big YUCK. But strangely, it still came out tasting divine. I would recommend trying it sometime, if you are stuck w/o chocolate. I mean, yes, it made it sweet, but many reviewers said to add some sugar. Hope the culinary police don't arrive on my doorstep - my defense will be "It is good to use what you have..." on the other hand it is also "Good to plan ahead." ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I only used 3/4 tsp of chile powder in response to one of the comments. I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also only used yellow raisins and did not add currants. I put everything for the sauce in my food processor to make it more of a liquid. The sauce had a great flavor, and my guests loved it. The chicken turned out a little dry, but it was good after I shred it and mixed it with the sauce. I had plenty of sauce for the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
If you are looking for your Super Bowl party meal, this is it! I made this today but used 3.5 of bone in pork butt. I subbed enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and added 4 chopped canned chipotles in lieu of hot sauce. I have been told this is the best pork I have ever made. After 11 hours in the slow cooker, I removed the bone and chunked the pork by breaking up the pieces. I prefer this to shredding because it allows the sauce flavor to seep into the meat. I served with soft tacos, pico de gallo, and diced avocado sprinkled with lime juice and some salt. It was excellent! If you are expecting a thick mole sauce, this isn't it but you could remove the meat and thicken it, I am sure. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After 5 hrs cooking on low, I was able to shred my chicken with a plastic spoon....so I don't think that there's a need for 11-12 hrs. It was delicious! Left out currants, added sugar and nutmeg after reading all the reviews.....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love mole and this was my first attempt. I only made 4 servings and it didn't seem that the conversion made for enough sauce. I added some extra tomato sauce and chicken broth near the end. It didn't need the whole 10 hours to cook either. The taste was very good though. I used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My 16-month boys ate it heartily. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
really good , tasty and easy , i added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because i used dark unsweetened chocolate .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States