Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I only used 3/4 tsp of chile powder in response to one of the comments. I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also only used yellow raisins and did not add currants. I put everything for the sauce in my food processor to make it more of a liquid. The sauce had a great flavor, and my guests loved it. The chicken turned out a little dry, but it was good after I shred it and mixed it with the sauce. I had plenty of sauce for the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After 5 hrs cooking on low, I was able to shred my chicken with a plastic spoon....so I don't think that there's a need for 11-12 hrs. It was delicious! Left out currants, added sugar and nutmeg after reading all the reviews.....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love mole and this was my first attempt. I only made 4 servings and it didn't seem that the conversion made for enough sauce. I added some extra tomato sauce and chicken broth near the end. It didn't need the whole 10 hours to cook either. The taste was very good though. I used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My 16-month boys ate it heartily. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
If you are looking for your Super Bowl party meal, this is it! I made this today but used 3.5 of bone in pork butt. I subbed enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and added 4 chopped canned chipotles in lieu of hot sauce. I have been told this is the best pork I have ever made. After 11 hours in the slow cooker, I removed the bone and chunked the pork by breaking up the pieces. I prefer this to shredding because it allows the sauce flavor to seep into the meat. I served with soft tacos, pico de gallo, and diced avocado sprinkled with lime juice and some salt. It was excellent! If you are expecting a thick mole sauce, this isn't it but you could remove the meat and thicken it, I am sure. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was really good! Only reason not giving it five stars is because a little more chocolate flavor in the mole would have made it perfect for us. Still, considering the ease of prep, I can easily remember next time to add more cocoa powder for personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
this was delicious with a few additions/changes. i upped the comino and cinnamon to 1 tsp. of each, and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground nutmeg and dried cilantro. try adding 1-2 tbsp. white sugar for a little sweetness to the sauce. i would definately recommend pureeing the sauce in a blender before adding to the crock pot with the chicken to make it smoother and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I have long wanted to make mole but every recipe had over 25 ingredients and took forever to make. with just a few small changes this was 5 star! I put the chicken in frozen (helped to keep it tender) added a couple chipotles in adobo, and I didn't have sesame seeds so I added a tablespoon of sesame oil. Near the end I took the meat out and shredded it and blended the sauce until smooth. I have found the perfect recipe for our home! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My first attempt at making mole. It was good. I appreciate that it didn't include high fat ingredients like lard. This was pretty quick to prepare which is a plus. I'll definitely try this again and maybe use tablets of Mexican drinking chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
sorry, this is not chicken mole -- compare with the color, texture and flavor of even the store-bought mole sauces from the latino section of your local grocery store -- this isnt even close, nor do believe i can use this recipe as a foundation to improve upon, so looking for another ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States