Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I only used 3/4 tsp of chile powder in response to one of the comments. I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also only used yellow raisins and did not add currants. I put everything for the sauce in my food processor to make it more of a liquid. The sauce had a great flavor, and my guests loved it. The chicken turned out a little dry, but it was good after I shred it and mixed it with the sauce. I had plenty of sauce for the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After 5 hrs cooking on low, I was able to shred my chicken with a plastic spoon....so I don't think that there's a need for 11-12 hrs. It was delicious! Left out currants, added sugar and nutmeg after reading all the reviews.....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love mole and this was my first attempt. I only made 4 servings and it didn't seem that the conversion made for enough sauce. I added some extra tomato sauce and chicken broth near the end. It didn't need the whole 10 hours to cook either. The taste was very good though. I used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My 16-month boys ate it heartily. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was really good! Only reason not giving it five stars is because a little more chocolate flavor in the mole would have made it perfect for us. Still, considering the ease of prep, I can easily remember next time to add more cocoa powder for personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
If you are looking for your Super Bowl party meal, this is it! I made this today but used 3.5 of bone in pork butt. I subbed enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and added 4 chopped canned chipotles in lieu of hot sauce. I have been told this is the best pork I have ever made. After 11 hours in the slow cooker, I removed the bone and chunked the pork by breaking up the pieces. I prefer this to shredding because it allows the sauce flavor to seep into the meat. I served with soft tacos, pico de gallo, and diced avocado sprinkled with lime juice and some salt. It was excellent! If you are expecting a thick mole sauce, this isn't it but you could remove the meat and thicken it, I am sure. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
this was delicious with a few additions/changes. i upped the comino and cinnamon to 1 tsp. of each, and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground nutmeg and dried cilantro. try adding 1-2 tbsp. white sugar for a little sweetness to the sauce. i would definately recommend pureeing the sauce in a blender before adding to the crock pot with the chicken to make it smoother and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I have long wanted to make mole but every recipe had over 25 ingredients and took forever to make. with just a few small changes this was 5 star! I put the chicken in frozen (helped to keep it tender) added a couple chipotles in adobo, and I didn't have sesame seeds so I added a tablespoon of sesame oil. Near the end I took the meat out and shredded it and blended the sauce until smooth. I have found the perfect recipe for our home! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My first attempt at making mole. It was good. I appreciate that it didn't include high fat ingredients like lard. This was pretty quick to prepare which is a plus. I'll definitely try this again and maybe use tablets of Mexican drinking chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was my first try at mole and my we loved this recipe! I added an extra cup of water at the end of the cooking time along with a few smoky dried ancho chilies and cinnamon sticks. I served it with garlic rice and it was a very satisfying low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States