Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very good recipe! Very easy to make. I left out the currants because my grocer was out. I added more hot sauce and served it on a warm tortilla with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
The chili powder flavor was overpowering. Not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love mole and this was my first attempt. I only made 4 servings and it didn't seem that the conversion made for enough sauce. I added some extra tomato sauce and chicken broth near the end. It didn't need the whole 10 hours to cook either. The taste was very good though. I used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My 16-month boys ate it heartily. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I only used 3/4 tsp of chile powder in response to one of the comments. I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also only used yellow raisins and did not add currants. I put everything for the sauce in my food processor to make it more of a liquid. The sauce had a great flavor, and my guests loved it. The chicken turned out a little dry, but it was good after I shred it and mixed it with the sauce. I had plenty of sauce for the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
You definitely need a spice grinder to do this recipe with the whole spices. The whole flavor of this dish was not what I expected at all. It tasted nothing like the Mole at a Mexican restaurant. I was pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Pretty good, definitley need to blend sauce before adding shredded chicken. Not as good as the clasic, time consuming recipe, but it will do in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I found the mole sauce to be to sweet . I would not make it again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I was impressed with how easy this was to make! Next time, I will double the tomato sauce and will be a little more heavy handed with the spices. I served this with vegetarian baked beans. . .the flavors worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Dektor Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
this was delicious with a few additions/changes. i upped the comino and cinnamon to 1 tsp. of each, and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground nutmeg and dried cilantro. try adding 1-2 tbsp. white sugar for a little sweetness to the sauce. i would definately recommend pureeing the sauce in a blender before adding to the crock pot with the chicken to make it smoother and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States