Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm not sure what went wrong with this but it was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I loved it, but I am a chocolate and cinnamon addict! I have never made a mole sauce before, so am not the best judge. However, I admit to a major embarrassment: Once I began cooking I discovered I had NO chocolate powder and even NO mexican chocolate (that I often use in my chili recipes). So, I got really creative and daring and I added, you guessed it, some Hershey's chocolate syrup!!!! I know...big YUCK. But strangely, it still came out tasting divine. I would recommend trying it sometime, if you are stuck w/o chocolate. I mean, yes, it made it sweet, but many reviewers said to add some sugar. Hope the culinary police don't arrive on my doorstep - my defense will be "It is good to use what you have..." on the other hand it is also "Good to plan ahead." ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
really good , tasty and easy , i added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because i used dark unsweetened chocolate .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Nice recipe, easy to follow and the flavour was very nice. Used chipolte powder instead of ancho, and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I have long wanted to make mole but every recipe had over 25 ingredients and took forever to make. with just a few small changes this was 5 star! I put the chicken in frozen (helped to keep it tender) added a couple chipotles in adobo, and I didn't have sesame seeds so I added a tablespoon of sesame oil. Near the end I took the meat out and shredded it and blended the sauce until smooth. I have found the perfect recipe for our home! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was my first try at mole and my we loved this recipe! I added an extra cup of water at the end of the cooking time along with a few smoky dried ancho chilies and cinnamon sticks. I served it with garlic rice and it was a very satisfying low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My first attempt at making mole. It was good. I appreciate that it didn't include high fat ingredients like lard. This was pretty quick to prepare which is a plus. I'll definitely try this again and maybe use tablets of Mexican drinking chocolate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was really good! Only reason not giving it five stars is because a little more chocolate flavor in the mole would have made it perfect for us. Still, considering the ease of prep, I can easily remember next time to add more cocoa powder for personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
sorry, this is not chicken mole -- compare with the color, texture and flavor of even the store-bought mole sauces from the latino section of your local grocery store -- this isnt even close, nor do believe i can use this recipe as a foundation to improve upon, so looking for another ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
no not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States