Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was my first try at mole and my we loved this recipe! I added an extra cup of water at the end of the cooking time along with a few smoky dried ancho chilies and cinnamon sticks. I served it with garlic rice and it was a very satisfying low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I loved it, but I am a chocolate and cinnamon addict! I have never made a mole sauce before, so am not the best judge. However, I admit to a major embarrassment: Once I began cooking I discovered I had NO chocolate powder and even NO mexican chocolate (that I often use in my chili recipes). So, I got really creative and daring and I added, you guessed it, some Hershey's chocolate syrup!!!! I know...big YUCK. But strangely, it still came out tasting divine. I would recommend trying it sometime, if you are stuck w/o chocolate. I mean, yes, it made it sweet, but many reviewers said to add some sugar. Hope the culinary police don't arrive on my doorstep - my defense will be "It is good to use what you have..." on the other hand it is also "Good to plan ahead." ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a very good recipe! Very easy to make. I left out the currants because my grocer was out. I added more hot sauce and served it on a warm tortilla with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I only used 3/4 tsp of chile powder in response to one of the comments. I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tsp sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. I also only used yellow raisins and did not add currants. I put everything for the sauce in my food processor to make it more of a liquid. The sauce had a great flavor, and my guests loved it. The chicken turned out a little dry, but it was good after I shred it and mixed it with the sauce. I had plenty of sauce for the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is one of our favorites. We make it for parties and our friends go crazy over it. I have never seen currants at the store, so I use 1/3 cup currant jelly instead, and I use cherry crasins (cranberries) or a rasin cranberry blend instead of just rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyacorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
If you are looking for your Super Bowl party meal, this is it! I made this today but used 3.5 of bone in pork butt. I subbed enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and added 4 chopped canned chipotles in lieu of hot sauce. I have been told this is the best pork I have ever made. After 11 hours in the slow cooker, I removed the bone and chunked the pork by breaking up the pieces. I prefer this to shredding because it allows the sauce flavor to seep into the meat. I served with soft tacos, pico de gallo, and diced avocado sprinkled with lime juice and some salt. It was excellent! If you are expecting a thick mole sauce, this isn't it but you could remove the meat and thicken it, I am sure. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
After 5 hrs cooking on low, I was able to shred my chicken with a plastic spoon....so I don't think that there's a need for 11-12 hrs. It was delicious! Left out currants, added sugar and nutmeg after reading all the reviews.....it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Nice recipe, easy to follow and the flavour was very nice. Used chipolte powder instead of ancho, and added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
really good , tasty and easy , i added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because i used dark unsweetened chocolate .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I love mole and this was my first attempt. I only made 4 servings and it didn't seem that the conversion made for enough sauce. I added some extra tomato sauce and chicken broth near the end. It didn't need the whole 10 hours to cook either. The taste was very good though. I used all raisins since I didn't have currants. My 16-month boys ate it heartily. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States