Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've noticed a few comments that it is too 'hot".... please read the recipe... it calls for ONE - finely chopped canned chipotle...... NOT one entire can of them! LOL.... thanks for the giggle! If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very nice mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is a perfect mole sauce that is so easy! I added one small can of stewed tomatoes because I wanted more sauce, and since I didn't have corriander I used cilantro. Next time I will omit the sugar because the rasins and peanut butter add enough sweetness. Half of an adobe chipotle will add the heat to please tender palettes. I never thought I would make a homemade mole sauce but this was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I absolutely love mole but am also VERY picky about the quality. This was the closest thing to authentic mole that I have been able to find! Delicious! I added 2 circles of mexican chocolate though in place of the other chocolate it calls for and I added some extra peanut butter. This was so easy and tastes FANTASTIC! I had leftover mole for a couple of days and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
For those of you who dont even follow the recipe, maybe you shouldnt be rating the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
this was so delicious i could not believe i made this !! i followed the recepipe to a T however i diced up 2 chipotle peppers & used 1 whole "abuelita" chocolate disk (mexican hot chocolate found in the ethnic aisle of youre local grocer).. ps , if youre debating the peanut butter part, dont hesitate.. my mexican grandmother also used p.b in her mole.. i actually used chicken boneless thighs ( breasts dry out )& threw in 2 drumsticks & the meat fell off the bone sparkling clean... i served this w/frijoles, white rice & avocado & cilantro garnish.... i will use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was so surprised at the tastiness and simplicity of this mole. It really is comparable to other chicken mole dishes that I have enjoyed at authentic mexican restaurants. It was so easy too! We don't have canned chipotle's here, so I added in a fresh jalapeno and some chipotle seasoning and it worked out perfectly. Served with brown rice, plain yogurt (sub for sour cream) and fresh cilantro. Highly recommend this one! We will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 3.5. I like the level of heat but the other ingredients dont seem to come through. This recipe has excellent potential to be something great but next time I will increase the amount of nutmeg, coriander, and cinnamon. Hopefully that would give it a greater depth of flavor. In summary, recipe is okay as is could be great with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty! Something to consider is that there is no salt in this recipe other than what's contributed by the canned tomatoes, peanut butter, and chipotles. I used natural peanut butter (as in, one ingredient - peanuts) and low-sodium tomatoes, so added some salt at the end too. Also, it seemed slightly bitter (probably due to the lack of added sugar in the natural peanut butter), so I stirred in about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, which instantly solved the problem. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Nice flavour, but very hot. This was after I removed the chipotle chilis from the adobo sauce as it was very hot on it's own. We couldn't taste the cocoa and I believe it's supposed to have a chocolate flavour to it? Nice just the same but I recommend severely reducing the peppers (can size isn't listed in recipe) and increasing cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
As close to my favorite Mexican restaurant's recipe as I've found! A couple of changes for my own preference: I removed the chicken, pureed the sauce with an immersion blender and then added shredded chicken back in. Next time, I'll use a little chicken broth to thin the sauce to desired consistency. A great start and extremely easy to make. I skipped the raisins because I don't like them and used whipped peanut butter (so I did add an extra dash of sugar in the end). Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States