Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've noticed a few comments that it is too 'hot".... please read the recipe... it calls for ONE - finely chopped canned chipotle...... NOT one entire can of them! LOL.... thanks for the giggle! If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very nice mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is a perfect mole sauce that is so easy! I added one small can of stewed tomatoes because I wanted more sauce, and since I didn't have corriander I used cilantro. Next time I will omit the sugar because the rasins and peanut butter add enough sweetness. Half of an adobe chipotle will add the heat to please tender palettes. I never thought I would make a homemade mole sauce but this was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I absolutely love mole but am also VERY picky about the quality. This was the closest thing to authentic mole that I have been able to find! Delicious! I added 2 circles of mexican chocolate though in place of the other chocolate it calls for and I added some extra peanut butter. This was so easy and tastes FANTASTIC! I had leftover mole for a couple of days and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
For those of you who dont even follow the recipe, maybe you shouldnt be rating the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
this was so delicious i could not believe i made this !! i followed the recepipe to a T however i diced up 2 chipotle peppers & used 1 whole "abuelita" chocolate disk (mexican hot chocolate found in the ethnic aisle of youre local grocer).. ps , if youre debating the peanut butter part, dont hesitate.. my mexican grandmother also used p.b in her mole.. i actually used chicken boneless thighs ( breasts dry out )& threw in 2 drumsticks & the meat fell off the bone sparkling clean... i served this w/frijoles, white rice & avocado & cilantro garnish.... i will use this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was so surprised at the tastiness and simplicity of this mole. It really is comparable to other chicken mole dishes that I have enjoyed at authentic mexican restaurants. It was so easy too! We don't have canned chipotle's here, so I added in a fresh jalapeno and some chipotle seasoning and it worked out perfectly. Served with brown rice, plain yogurt (sub for sour cream) and fresh cilantro. Highly recommend this one! We will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 3.5. I like the level of heat but the other ingredients dont seem to come through. This recipe has excellent potential to be something great but next time I will increase the amount of nutmeg, coriander, and cinnamon. Hopefully that would give it a greater depth of flavor. In summary, recipe is okay as is could be great with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty! Something to consider is that there is no salt in this recipe other than what's contributed by the canned tomatoes, peanut butter, and chipotles. I used natural peanut butter (as in, one ingredient - peanuts) and low-sodium tomatoes, so added some salt at the end too. Also, it seemed slightly bitter (probably due to the lack of added sugar in the natural peanut butter), so I stirred in about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, which instantly solved the problem. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
good with dark chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was really tasty! I love mole sauce when we go out for Mexican food. This recipe was just as good as what I order. I shredded the chicken and served it with sour cream and tortilla chips. Delicious! NOTE: Dont skip the raisins, they plumped up and gave a nice sweet balance to the spice of the sauce. NOTE 2: Dont use the entire car of chipotle chilis. The recipe calls for one and that was enough to give a nice kick but it was not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States