Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marsha
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is a perfect mole sauce that is so easy! I added one small can of stewed tomatoes because I wanted more sauce, and since I didn't have corriander I used cilantro. Next time I will omit the sugar because the rasins and peanut butter add enough sweetness. Half of an adobe chipotle will add the heat to please tender palettes. I never thought I would make a homemade mole sauce but this was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I absolutely love mole but am also VERY picky about the quality. This was the closest thing to authentic mole that I have been able to find! Delicious! I added 2 circles of mexican chocolate though in place of the other chocolate it calls for and I added some extra peanut butter. This was so easy and tastes FANTASTIC! I had leftover mole for a couple of days and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I would give this recipe a 3.5. I like the level of heat but the other ingredients dont seem to come through. This recipe has excellent potential to be something great but next time I will increase the amount of nutmeg, coriander, and cinnamon. Hopefully that would give it a greater depth of flavor. In summary, recipe is okay as is could be great with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Nice flavour, but very hot. This was after I removed the chipotle chilis from the adobo sauce as it was very hot on it's own. We couldn't taste the cocoa and I believe it's supposed to have a chocolate flavour to it? Nice just the same but I recommend severely reducing the peppers (can size isn't listed in recipe) and increasing cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
salt after braising; double the anchos. Awesome and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smart cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made this for Cinco de Mayo work potluck. I doubled the recipe. I didn't have any raisins or sesame seeds, but the dish was amazing. I thought it tasted just like restaurant quality. Will definitely make this again with probably not as many chipotle chiles. It was a bit spicy for my boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've noticed a few comments that it is too 'hot".... please read the recipe... it calls for ONE - finely chopped canned chipotle...... NOT one entire can of them! LOL.... thanks for the giggle! If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very nice mole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I was so surprised at the tastiness and simplicity of this mole. It really is comparable to other chicken mole dishes that I have enjoyed at authentic mexican restaurants. It was so easy too! We don't have canned chipotle's here, so I added in a fresh jalapeno and some chipotle seasoning and it worked out perfectly. Served with brown rice, plain yogurt (sub for sour cream) and fresh cilantro. Highly recommend this one! We will definitely make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really different. My husband and friend really liked it. It's still up in the air for me. I served it as a filling for taco shells and soft tortillas heated. We treated it as a filling for those and added sour cream, avacado, ch. onions and grated cheese. I didn't add the chipotle because I was too lazy to go to the store just for that. But I did add chipotle seasoning and a little chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
A pretty decent mole recipe. It could use more cocoa or some dark chocolate, but the taste overall is pretty close to the real thing. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States