Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I can't believe someone said this tasted like dog food! I thought it was a fabulous recipe and we are "foodies"! I usually alter recipes to my liking but I pretty much followed this one closely. Here are my very minor modifications... I don't like things too spicy so I didn't use a chopped pepper. I just put a tablespoon or two of the adobo sauce in. ....and it was still plenty spicy!! I don't think I could have handled it any spicier than it was with just the adobo sauce (unfortunately, my kids couldn't eat it because of the spice). I finely chopped the raisins before I put them in, omitted the sugar and used a natural, unsweetened peanut butter. I don't think I'd use a Jiff (or sweetened PB in this). It'd be too sweet! We served it in corn and flour tortillas. This will become a staple in our household (esp. in the winter). I just love delicious crock pot meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
worst recipe ever it tasted like what I think dog food might taste like. Luckily I made some chicken enchiladas too.So everybody didnt go hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I tried this recipe without changing a thing, it was excellent! Get yourself some grated cheese and tortillas and go to town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Super delicious and simple! I wouldn't quite say it tastes restaurant-style (at least not like the restaurants I've had it at), but it's definitely a tasty meal. I used fire-roasted canned tomatoes and it helped bring out the smoky flavor I'm used to in mole, although I didn't use coriander because I wasn't able to find it at my grocery store, for some reason. Still, it turned out fantastic, and I regretted making only half the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I don't get the raisins, unless they are just for authenticity. They are a distraction in the dish and make it too sweet. Checking around the web I do find one other chicken mole recipe that uses (just 1/4 cup) raisins. I will leave them out next time. Doubled the chipotele pepper and the heat is just right for most around here. Could go hotter. Next time I will omit the raisins, and pehaps add a tblsp brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good, though not that similar to other moles I've had. The raisins and spices also made it feel a little South Asian-influenced in a good way. I cut down the peanut butter to 1 TBS, fearing it might dominate. I used a bit more of the adobo sauce for depth of flavor but just one chile and it wasn't too hot. I used a square of baker's chocolate and partway through tasted and added a little cocoa (stronger bite). I sprinkled with sesame seeds and chopped cilantro to serve. Thanks to the original poster--this will go into our regular options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Tasty but was too rich after one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Yum! I love mole, and this met my craving. It was a little more tomato-ey than other moles that I've had, but still really yummy. I added 2 squared of Mexican chocolate, as a reviewer recommended, and used fresh cilantro instead of coriander because that's all I had. You can't beat a recipe that you just throw together in a slow cooker and forget about until dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
swapped the meat for quorn and lowered the heat to match those eating it. also left out the sugar as another review suggested. It went down really well, this will be made again, hopefully with a higher chili level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had just purchased a turkey breast when I came across this recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed the complexity of flavors. I did substitute honey for the sugar, used Mexican chocolate instead of the cocoa and added 2 chipotles for extra spiciness. Thanks for a delicious and easy mole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States