Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty! Something to consider is that there is no salt in this recipe other than what's contributed by the canned tomatoes, peanut butter, and chipotles. I used natural peanut butter (as in, one ingredient - peanuts) and low-sodium tomatoes, so added some salt at the end too. Also, it seemed slightly bitter (probably due to the lack of added sugar in the natural peanut butter), so I stirred in about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, which instantly solved the problem. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Super easy and tasty. Made with pork instead of chicken, which added an extra sweetness, so I left the sugar out. I was confused by the raisins and didn't put them in- if I'm missing something huge, somebody please share! Thank you for a recipe that tastes... like Mole I would get in an American restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delicious! I do think that some of the other reviewers are more sensitive to spice than I: I used two chipotle chiles, and plan to use at least 4 next time for a decent level of heat. I pureed the raisins and chiles in a food processor because I don't love the texture of whole raisins. I used a bit of the tomato to add liquid. I specifically used sweetened peanut butter, and did not add sugar, which gave me the perfect sweetness. Overall, delicious. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
My husband and I didn't really like this. I am sure it is not the recipe just the combination of flavors. I think that you have to have the right taste buds for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Really easy meal to prepare and really tasty. I cut out the raisins which I don't think effected the flavor at all. The only thing I would note is not to cook this any longer than 5 hours. I left it in the cooker on the lowest setting for almost 6 hours and I thought the chicken was slightly drier than intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I'm very sorry... but this was TERRIBLE! My husband and I could barely eat it and we threw away the left overs. It was extremely bitter, overly spicy, and had way too much of a tomato flavor for mole. It lacks the complexity of good mole which I suppose shouldn't be suprising since it is a simple recipe. I was really looking forward to being able to make mole at home, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Not good, but based on the other reviews, I must have messed something up. The unsweetened cocoa flavor was overwhelming. So much so that the after taste was horrible. Probably will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I can't believe someone said this tasted like dog food! I thought it was a fabulous recipe and we are "foodies"! I usually alter recipes to my liking but I pretty much followed this one closely. Here are my very minor modifications... I don't like things too spicy so I didn't use a chopped pepper. I just put a tablespoon or two of the adobo sauce in. ....and it was still plenty spicy!! I don't think I could have handled it any spicier than it was with just the adobo sauce (unfortunately, my kids couldn't eat it because of the spice). I finely chopped the raisins before I put them in, omitted the sugar and used a natural, unsweetened peanut butter. I don't think I'd use a Jiff (or sweetened PB in this). It'd be too sweet! We served it in corn and flour tortillas. This will become a staple in our household (esp. in the winter). I just love delicious crock pot meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
worst recipe ever it tasted like what I think dog food might taste like. Luckily I made some chicken enchiladas too.So everybody didnt go hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States