Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
no nutmeg... has potential but I think the flavor would be better stove top. The onions stayed crunchy and it didn't get the dark rich mole color. I actually added 2 more teaspoons of sugar to try and get the chocolate to come through. Sauce to meat ratio is way off. Could easily double the meat. I ended up throwing in some left-over rotisserie chicken in the end because there was just too much sauce that was going to go to waste. I think it could also go with two chipotle peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was my first time making chicken mole,and I must say THANK YOU so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I did add a bit more PB, Chipotle peppers and shredded the chicken (my family loves spicy foods)but other than those few tweaks, I followed the recipe to the T. Super Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arcefam23
Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tried it last night without altering the recipe (didn't have any raisins though) I think I would make it again but with the following changes: -no breast meat. Too dry, needs to b thigh or drumstick - less peanut butter or maybe peanut sauce instead, I thought it added a tacky mouth feel that added to the dryness -add some salt -add an acidic agent, lime juice or vinegar. Overall the flavors were nice and the heat level was good (with just one adobe pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I've had mole at a restaurant before and enjoyed it but this was basically inedible. I followed the recipe except I skipped the chile as I can't handle the heat. At first it tasted like it was completely flavourless but eventually it became distasteful and I left half my meal on the plate. It was however a good texture and consistency, I used chicken stirfry meat and it broke up and mixed well with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was trying this out for the first time yesterday. I happened to be making a double batch so I could freeze half for another meal, which worked out well because I ended up with unexpected company for dinner (my mom/stepdad and my brother/SIL). We had more that enough with the extra, but with three big men, three mamas, and couple of kids, a single batch would not have fed everyone. True there is a lot of extra mole sauce, but I saved it and will use over grilled chicken breasts or something like that. Anyway, everyone raved about the dinner and my SIL wants the recipe. Changes I made: -Used half boneless chicken breast, half boneless chicken thighs -Used chunky peanut butter (it is what we had on hand) -Used half regular chili powder/half ancho chili powder (already had it in the cupboard and figured it was a good a time as any to use some up) -Took out the chicken and mixed the mole with an immersion blender about an hour before completion (then added the chicken back in to finish cooking) -Shredded the chicken for serving We had this with small corn tortillas, queso blanco, avocado, yellow rice, and sour cream. Also a nice green salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I also mistakenly added the whole can of chipotles the first time I made it, and then decided to use juste one quarter of the chili powder, for I felt it was going to be too much... It still came out hot, but good! Second time I did it the right way (1 chipotle and complete amount of the chili powder) and it came out better! Still both times my family and I loved the recipe, it is the simplest, easiest recipe for an authentic taste mole that I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious dinner that the hole family really liked. I used two big chicken breasts, shredded them, and served the whole thing over rice. I'm always looking for good slow-cooker recipes and this one is a keeper. I also like that its a shorter cooking time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe made good foundation for making my mole. I used a bar of dark chocolate, a rotesserie chicken, the whole can of chiles, and probably three times the other spices to get it to tasete right to me. But then we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is awfully good for being a simple slow cooker recipe. It makes a LOT of sauce, so you could use substantially more chicken if you wanted. I needed to add extra cocoa powder, chipotle and salt to make it zing. I also rehydrated a dried ancho pepper and threw it into the mix. This made it feel more authentic. After close to 4 hours simmering on low, I took the chicken out and used an immersion blender to mix things better. One last thing: I used boneless chicken thighs so that they wouldn't dry out. They came out SO tender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
My family really loved it, but I didn't prefer it (this is weird since I'm the one who loves everything). It was good, just not my favorite. I felt like it could use a little something, just didn't know what. This was my firs time making a mole though. I will certainly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States