Slow Cooker Chicken Mole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
While not as good as mole I have had in restaurants, this is very good. I wish it was a little bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great base for mole. I doubled the spice and added green chiles. Very easy and delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I Love Mole! Unfortunately, this had a "weird" taste. We did eat it wrapped in tortillas, but through the leftovers (a ton) out. I followed the recipe exactly, including shredding the chicken an hour before finish. It was the flavor that lingered for hours. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The raisins were really overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef_fiizeru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
no nutmeg... has potential but I think the flavor would be better stove top. The onions stayed crunchy and it didn't get the dark rich mole color. I actually added 2 more teaspoons of sugar to try and get the chocolate to come through. Sauce to meat ratio is way off. Could easily double the meat. I ended up throwing in some left-over rotisserie chicken in the end because there was just too much sauce that was going to go to waste. I think it could also go with two chipotle peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was my first time making chicken mole,and I must say THANK YOU so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! I did add a bit more PB, Chipotle peppers and shredded the chicken (my family loves spicy foods)but other than those few tweaks, I followed the recipe to the T. Super Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ameliaarce
Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tried it last night without altering the recipe (didn't have any raisins though) I think I would make it again but with the following changes: -no breast meat. Too dry, needs to b thigh or drumstick - less peanut butter or maybe peanut sauce instead, I thought it added a tacky mouth feel that added to the dryness -add some salt -add an acidic agent, lime juice or vinegar. Overall the flavors were nice and the heat level was good (with just one adobe pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I was really disappointed with this recipe. I've had mole at a restaurant before and enjoyed it but this was basically inedible. I followed the recipe except I skipped the chile as I can't handle the heat. At first it tasted like it was completely flavourless but eventually it became distasteful and I left half my meal on the plate. It was however a good texture and consistency, I used chicken stirfry meat and it broke up and mixed well with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was trying this out for the first time yesterday. I happened to be making a double batch so I could freeze half for another meal, which worked out well because I ended up with unexpected company for dinner (my mom/stepdad and my brother/SIL). We had more that enough with the extra, but with three big men, three mamas, and couple of kids, a single batch would not have fed everyone. True there is a lot of extra mole sauce, but I saved it and will use over grilled chicken breasts or something like that. Anyway, everyone raved about the dinner and my SIL wants the recipe. Changes I made: -Used half boneless chicken breast, half boneless chicken thighs -Used chunky peanut butter (it is what we had on hand) -Used half regular chili powder/half ancho chili powder (already had it in the cupboard and figured it was a good a time as any to use some up) -Took out the chicken and mixed the mole with an immersion blender about an hour before completion (then added the chicken back in to finish cooking) -Shredded the chicken for serving We had this with small corn tortillas, queso blanco, avocado, yellow rice, and sour cream. Also a nice green salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I also mistakenly added the whole can of chipotles the first time I made it, and then decided to use juste one quarter of the chili powder, for I felt it was going to be too much... It still came out hot, but good! Second time I did it the right way (1 chipotle and complete amount of the chili powder) and it came out better! Still both times my family and I loved the recipe, it is the simplest, easiest recipe for an authentic taste mole that I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States