Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Excellent! A delicious, easy, healthy, and budget friendly one-dish meal. I made it as written. The flavors blended nicely and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I cooked it on high for just under 4 hours and stirred it initially and then stirred one about half way through to blend everything and distribute liquid and had no problem with the chicken breasts drying out. UPDATE: I made this again and added red and green bell peppers and broccoli slaw to increase the vegetables and I doubled the spices except salt. Since I increased the vegetables I decided to add another can of diced tomatoes and that was a mistake because then it added too much liquid. I recommend not adding additional liquid even though it may look dry in the beginning because it makes its own sauce as it cooks. Also, this time it seemed the additional liquid diluted the spices as it was not as flavorful as the first time even though I doubled the spices this time. Next time I will add the additional vegetables but stick to 1 can of tomatoes and double the spices. It is a delicious recipe. If trying it for the first time I recommend following the recipe as written. UPDATE II: While eating leftovers of this recipe my husband declared this was the best dish I have made. So it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
A very flavorful and healthy meal that's ridculously easy to put together. Next time will cut up the sweet potatoes a little smaller so they cook at the same rate as the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great balance of flavor. This is one of the only ways I like sweet potatoes. The only change I would suggest is switching to boneless skinless chicken thighs. Simmering breast meat for long periods of time makes the chicken dry. I get that this is a stew but if you make the recipe with thigh meat you will notice a major difference in the texture and flavor of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manwithgills

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was an easy to make, very tasty, one-pot meal and my 'meat and potatoes' guys loved it..I didn't have fresh sweet potatoes, so I used canned, draining the syrup off first; no garbanzo beans, but we found great northern worked well..I added a pinch of ground red pepper for zing and it worked perfectly. I just made it this evening, in fact, we just left the table 20 mins ago! Very good recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made this today & it was delicious. I only had black beans & they worked well. I used 1/2 boneless skinless chicken & 1/2 skinless chicken drums but next time I will use all drums or thighs as the dark meat is so much more flavorful. I also added a cup of chicken broth. A definite keeper...thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERLOU1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Haiku: "In minority. This did not blow us away. Had to toss the rest." Unlike other reviews, we didn't really care for this dish at all. Easy enough to prepare (although I halved it for 2 adults and a child), but not well received at dinnertime. My daughter and husband picked out the chicken reluctantly, and while I ate a full serving, I found myself burping the flavors of it the rest of the evening, much to my stomach's dismay. Something about that particular combo of spices and ingredients just didn't sit right w/ us. Fun to try new things though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this quick and simple chicken stew. I just threw the ingredients into the slow cooker last night, refridgerated, and had hubs turn on about 9:00 am this morning. Slow cooked for about 8 hours before turning off and serving over rice. I only used 1 lb boneless, skinless tenderloins, and did add some chicken broth when I got home as this was a tad on the dry side after that cooking time. Loved the spices, I would definitely double them when making next time. I just added them to the tomatoes and juice, mixed, and poured over the stew. I also subbed black beans for garbonzos, just personal preference. thanks for sharing this, KCOOPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this recipe as written, but also threw in some cilantro, since that appears in a lot of Moroccan dishes, and it was delicious. Be careful when serving though, because the sweet potatoes get crumbly and mushy. Served it with couscous, and they went well together. Even my boyfriend who doesn't generally like sweet potatoes enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaConchita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Made as written,and we really liked it,the sauce is very nice. As others have mentioned before me I added a litle chick.broth in the last hr. I served it w/over rice. W
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This recipe was delicious! I made it as directed, except I put my chicken breasts into the slow cooker frozen (I think that helped keep them from drying out), and shredded them in the last half hour of cooking. Next time I'll double the spices, because it wasn't quite as flavorful as I was hoping for, omit the carrots, because it already has enough sweetness going on in the recipe, and add some fresh cilantro and a handful of raisins for extra flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States