Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I would highly recommend it. The only thing I did different was I used regular potatoes because I didn't have any sweet potatoes on hand. We really enjoyed the exotic spice blend. Even my picky son said it was pretty good and ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious, healthy, and simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe verbatim and was skeptical with the amount of seasoning called for. It just didn't seem like enough. I saw another recommendation to use thighs instead of breasts with which I wholeheartedly concur. Wasting $10 for 2lbs of chicken breasts that ended up dry and unappetizing was so disappointing. I will be eating the leftovers but will be happy when they are gone. We won't be fixing this one again. Easy, yes. Nutritious, yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Crazy simple and delicious!! The sweet potatoes cooked down and made a nice thickener. The flavor was outstanding, not too "exotic" for my husband. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Pretty solid recipe thank you! As suggested I added bell peppers and broccoli slaw. I also added smoked sausage, extra garlic, and curry powder, and a little cream to the mixture. Overall I added more seasonings than in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this really expecting something very flavorful and was a little let down. First things first, I used a food processor to cut my veggies so everything was cut evenly and cooked just right. I used a pound of thigh meat and a pound of breast which was a good mix as well. I also only have a 4qt. crockpot and had to take out some of the veggies because they wouldn't all fit. I thought the flavor was somewhat bland. Having said this, I will admit that I cook with cumin and turmeric a lot and also cook a lot of eastern-flavored dishes. If you are not used to these types of spices you would probably consider this very flavorful and a delight to your taste buds. I guess I was just looking for something more - so I doubled the spices! I also thought it needed something to bring all of the flavors together so I added some heavy whipping cream (about 1/4 - 1/2 c). I added all of this after the 4 hours and simply left it on warm for another two. It is a good dish and also very healthy (sans cream) and I think you could defiantly add more veggies to make it extra healthy. Just keep in mind how sensitive you are to the spices called for and use your best judgement for your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The spice mixture in this dish is wonderful! Really liked the flavor. Low fat as well and pretty adaptable. When I went to get my sweet potatoes I discovered they had gone bad and substituted plain white potatoes instead. I hope to make this again, perhaps substituting the chicken with little meat balls made with the same spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Pretty darn good! I would give this 5 stars if it didn't need so many adjustments from written form. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts (far less dry), added some paprika and extra garlic and cumin for flavor (doubling the cinnamon seemed like overkill, it comes across just fine in the given amount), and added a splash of vegetable broth. I also used Rotel for the canned tomatoes (with the juice), and I feel this added some kick to it that may be lacking in the recipes original form. Also, I cooked this on 8ish hours on Low, instead of 3-4 on High. As a stew the mushy-ness didn't bother me, but maybe cooking on high would reduce this? I don't have enough slow cooker experience yet to tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is very delicious and hearty. The spices are perfect - not overpowering. I used white potatoes instead of sweet potatoes because my kids are not fans, but next time I will try both kinds of potatoes. I made couscous to serve with the stew. How can something this delicious and satisfying be so easy?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I thought Cinnamon and Chicken was a unique combination...but one I really enjoyed. My husband and I loved the recipe, my kids felt it had too many spices. I would definitely make it again. I think it would be great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States