Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Excellent! A delicious, easy, healthy, and budget friendly one-dish meal. I made it as written. The flavors blended nicely and it smelled wonderful while it was cooking. I cooked it on high for just under 4 hours and stirred it initially and then stirred one about half way through to blend everything and distribute liquid and had no problem with the chicken breasts drying out. UPDATE: I made this again and added red and green bell peppers and broccoli slaw to increase the vegetables and I doubled the spices except salt. Since I increased the vegetables I decided to add another can of diced tomatoes and that was a mistake because then it added too much liquid. I recommend not adding additional liquid even though it may look dry in the beginning because it makes its own sauce as it cooks. Also, this time it seemed the additional liquid diluted the spices as it was not as flavorful as the first time even though I doubled the spices this time. Next time I will add the additional vegetables but stick to 1 can of tomatoes and double the spices. It is a delicious recipe. If trying it for the first time I recommend following the recipe as written. UPDATE II: While eating leftovers of this recipe my husband declared this was the best dish I have made. So it is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
A very flavorful and healthy meal that's ridculously easy to put together. Next time will cut up the sweet potatoes a little smaller so they cook at the same rate as the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Fantastic! This will be a household menu for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made this today & it was delicious. I only had black beans & they worked well. I used 1/2 boneless skinless chicken & 1/2 skinless chicken drums but next time I will use all drums or thighs as the dark meat is so much more flavorful. I also added a cup of chicken broth. A definite keeper...thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERLOU1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glovertown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was an easy to make, very tasty, one-pot meal and my 'meat and potatoes' guys loved it..I didn't have fresh sweet potatoes, so I used canned, draining the syrup off first; no garbanzo beans, but we found great northern worked well..I added a pinch of ground red pepper for zing and it worked perfectly. I just made it this evening, in fact, we just left the table 20 mins ago! Very good recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this recipe as written, but also threw in some cilantro, since that appears in a lot of Moroccan dishes, and it was delicious. Be careful when serving though, because the sweet potatoes get crumbly and mushy. Served it with couscous, and they went well together. Even my boyfriend who doesn't generally like sweet potatoes enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaConchita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was fantastic -- my husband and I both loved it, and even the 2-year-old ate a bowl! (The 4-year-old didn't, but he's like Mikey -- he hates everything.) I didn't need to add any additional liquid, though next time I may increase the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
What a great meal! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good! I probably would cook it on high for only 4 hours next time (5 hrs. dried out the chicken some). I used more cumin, turmeric and cinnamon than the it calls for as we like the taste of all these spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made it for my pot luck party this past weekend. It was a hit!!! I made Goya spanish rice to go with it. They definitely go well together. Great flavor!! This dish was so easy to make! I couldn't fit all the sweet potatoes in the slow cooker, so I had to take some out >
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States