Slow Cooker Chicken Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
If you use the modifications suggested here, this is a 5 star recipe. I only used 1 can of cream of chicken soup and added some chicken broth at the beginning - just enough to make it all moist. I also checked it at least once an hour to make sure it was still moist. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This tasted really good. However, the dressing was a little soggy. Next time, I think I'll add only one can of chicken broth. Also, I made things a lot easier on myself by NOT cooking the chicken before putting it in the crockpot. I just put the whole boneless, skinless breast halves in the crockpot and covered it with the mixture. Then I cooked on my "auto" setting for about 7 hours (that's 2 hours on high and the remaining time on low). It wouldn't have had to cook that long though for the chicken to be done. You could cook on high for 3-4 hours and it'll be done. The chicken just falls apart. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as indicated EXCEPT I baked it in the oven. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was great,but I did take caution on the runny issues that others had . I mix the soup with some broth before adding to mix then contiune to add broth to mix until the mix remind me of a cormbread batter or pancake batter you know kinda thick,also add tsp. of poultry season and a extra tsp. of sage.I actually thinking about using this recipe at christmas this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Great recipe. In order to cut down on moisture, I cut down on the liquids. Cut broth and cream of chicken soup in half. I also leave the lid off the crockpot for the last hour and keep stirring it to help dry it out a bit. Otherwise, if you follow the recipe without modifications, the stuffing turns out kind of soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison and Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is cooking in my Crockpot right now, and I just sneaked a taste. PERFECTION! This is the dressing I remember from my childhood, and what I've been trying to achieve all these years! The changes I made were minimal and reflect my personal tastes, but I think it would have been just as good exactly as written. I didn't add chicken because we like ours separate, and I didn't use the white bread. I added a cup of chopped celery and sauteed it with the onion and sage in 2 T. margarine. I added that to all the wet ingredients and seasonings, then crumbled cornbread into the mixture until it was the consistency I wanted. Because the Crockpot is a very "moist" cooking environment, it will only thicken a bit while cooking, so make sure it's not too soupy at the beginning. Thank you, Mindy, for such a fantastic recipe. I can't wait to make this for my family at Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I will add celery to this next time. Cut the liquid down one can and I like poultry seasoning so I would add a tsp. of that to it, it will probably be a lot better, for me. But, very good dish just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
Very quick and easy recipe. Makes delicious dressing - you really must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
No fuss dressing! This recipe is so much simpler than the way my mom taught me how to make cornbread dressing. I'm from the South where they take cornbread dressing seriously! I work, have a hubby, 3 teen boys & a toddler. I didn't have time to devote to making dressing for Christmas. I added chopped celery stalks, a box of herbed stuffing mix (my men have huge appetites) instead of day old bread, omitted the chicken since I was roasting turkey, set the time/temp on the slow cooker and forgot about it. The aroma had my family stalking the slow cooker. It was so flavorful. This is a staple going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Made this at Thanksgiving for the first time and got rave reviews! This is so good, we now make it as a side dish regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Willis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States