Slow Cooker Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I too ended up with chicken curry soup, but hubby ate it anyway. I'd suggest either reducing the water to only one cup OR swap out the two potatos for 1 to 2 cups of rice (they'd soak up the liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Marvel
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
True, the curry didn't thicken for this recipe, but I thought it had a good taste. It was easy and it smelled great! I didn't add the stir fry into the crockpot as suggested. I steamed the stir fry separately, as well as made rice. It was good. I had unexpected company drop by, and I served it to them, they had seconds and begged for the recipe. It was the first time I had made curry chicken of any sort and I was pleased with the outcome. I would not add the potatoes to it next time as I did serve it with rice. I would make it again. I would probably play with it some, but I always do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Unfortunately this curry just had no taste and the consistency was wrong. I added onions, more curry powder, cream and several other spices to try to salvage it but we were disappointed - I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
As written this was very bland and watery. So the first try was met with disappointment from my curry crazed family. The good news is that this receipe is salvagable. The next time, I added plain yogurt (about 2 TBLS)to thicken the sauce, coriander, cumin, and tumeric. I served it over rice with fresh ground cinnamon. Not a bad start though as the chicken stays very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe works if you omit the water and use a can of diced tomatoes instead. I used tomatoes with onions and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This "curry" was so thin, I had to thicken it with flour and more cornstarch in a sauce pan over high heat, it just didn't thicken at all. The taste was very bland and unappetizing. We went for MacDonalds and threw this out! This will teach me to never make curry with recipes that only call for one spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
As others have said this was too bland and juice to thin, although it had a nice curry smell. If I make again will definitely add more or stronger curry or both and garlic, maybe some red/cayenne pepper and onions and use less water. Adding more curry powder and chili paste on the plate and serving on rice (made with chicken broth, chopped onions, curry and garlic) did help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This dish was very bland. I would not recommend it. We had to add other seasonings to our bowls after it was done like soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SECONAWAY21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Very bland. Not at all what I expect from a recipe bearing the name "Curry".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Not too good....bland, thin, watery, not tender enough, just not a good curry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States