Slow Cooker Chicken Curry with Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe has a lot of potential when the changes that others mentioned are made, and my rating is for the tweaked version. I doubled the curry powder, and added 2 cloves of garlic, mushrooms, carrots, cranberries, salt, pepper, and the spices recommended by others, apart from the extra chilli. I added a splash of soy sauce at the end, too. It turned out beautifully. I think it would probably go better again (although would require a little more work) by frying up the spices, onions, garlic and chicken before popping them in the slow cooker. I noted someone was concerned about too much liquid in the final result. The apples do release a lot as they cook, so I decided to eliminate the milk, which can separate in slow cooking, by adding a 50g sachet of powdered coconut milk to the stock, which I made up with a full teaspoon of powder in a cup of boiling water. This was great. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My hubby doesn't like apples in non-desert food so I skipped that but I think raisins would be better than apples. Found the curry flavor very bland so tripled it and added a two dashes each of cinnamon, cumin and chili powder. Also substituted low fat coconut milk for the regular low fat milk, tasted more like curry and added a few carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Like others I doubled the curry and quinoa, and used coconut milk instead of milk. I exchanged the apple for dried cranberries because that's what I had. It was a delicious meal to come home to! Very moist, definitely not dry. Was able to take the 2/3 cup quinoa and still be moist. I am always looking for good, real food, crock pot recipes (no canned soups or mixes, etc....) Will make again, maybe trying the apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laracucina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I loved the idea but also read other viewers comments before making. Increased the Curry to 3T, added 1T Garam Masala and a dash of Paprika. Instead of apples put a couple handfuls of Cranberries at the beggining and a couple at the end. I would agree with another reviewer on roasting the onions and garlic first, I will defiantly do this next time but add some pine nuts. I used a full can of cocunut milk but also put about a cup of quinoa in the end. Will continue to make this recipe and tweek everytime. Also will not add carrots next time because they were still hard in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Really liked this recipe, however I added some extra quinoa and a touch of lemon juice. Served it with plain yogurt. Next time I may add some raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Really good. I enjoyed this meal with the additions of carrots instead of celery, cranraisins for color and tartness (put in just a few minutes before serving) and the additional spices of cumin, cinnamon and chili powder that another reviewer recommended. Also, for some texture, I didn't add the apples at the beginning but rather about half way through. I also used yogurt instead of milk. I served it with baked potatoes. The one thing that I don't like is that there seems to be more liquid left over than one may expect - but it still tastes really good and has some really unique and different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I tripled the curry and added garam marsala which I believ to be the wonder spice of eastern food. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Four stars after the modifications. I listened to other reviewers and doubled the spices/added cinnamon, curry, chili powder and garlic. I omitted the apples and replaced them with potatoes. I also doubled the grains. Very tasty end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ember

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
really enjoyed this dish. I liked the apples. I did add carrots and used coconut milk and will add raisins next time. I have very strong curry I got in South Africa and the alloted amount was plenty strong, and i like strong curry. I will do this again and will try it without chicken and add vegetables to make a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
SUGGESTIONS: Double all spices and add cinnamon, cumin, garlic and salt. Omit the apples and double the amount of quinoa. Add carrots. NEXT TIME: I will try adding coconut milk and craisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States