Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this tonight for dinner exactly as directed except for the "creole seasoning to taste" part. How am I supposed to know what "to taste" is if you don't provide me a guideline? Is that a teaspoon or a cup?? I used 3T per another reviewers suggestion which seemed to be just right. This recipe wasn't bad but I wouldn't call it great either and I probably won't ever repeat it. 5 hours on low made the 4 chicken breasts way overcooked and dry. The sauce over the egg noodles was the best part but again, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was ok, but I don't think I'll make it again....just didn't seem like a complete meal.... edit: added penne pasta boiled in beef stock and added more red pepper flakes, salt and pepper and it made it into a 4 star recipe- seems more like a meal now and taste is improved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. Of course, we all like to make things our own. I use Emeril's creole spice (NOT my own, google it). I dry rub the chicken with Emiril's spice, brown it in my cast iron pan then add to the slow cooker. I then deglaze the pan with a tasty red wine and add to the cooker with the chicken. I substitute the green pepper with one red, and one orange. I also just slice the jalapeno leaving the ribs and the seed for spice. Last but not least I add a thinly sliced andouille sausage for that smokey Louisiana goodness. Hailing from western Canada I have NO clue whether or not this counts as a "creole" but.... Mmmm nom nom nom. Thanks for the base recipe! I wouldn't have been able to create this from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoff Maguire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
this was fantastic!! I used split chicken breasts and 2 hours before serving I shredded and removed the bones. added chicken back and cooked on high for 2 hours. served over rice and then added the leftover rice and some shrimp to the leftovers for jambalaya later in the week. I didnt add mushrooms or jalapeno. I have a 6 yr old, but I did add cayenne & it was perfect for a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Excellent! After reading numerous reviews I did add an extra can of chopped tomatoes to go along with the stewed and 1 extra small jalapeno and a 1/2 can of chicken broth. I used 3 heaping tbsp. of Tony C's creole seasoning "to taste". No salt or additional pepper was necessary. I also used a package of chicken breast tenders for the meat and MAN OH MAN THIS WAS GOOD! The texture was perfect and spooned it over some brown rice. As in another review, I put some in a soup bowl the next day, added a few splashes of water to thin it up a tad and it was some of the best soup I ever had! This ones a keeper--give it a try! However, though I like a bit of heat and 2 jalapenos was NOT overwhelmingly hot, I will probably only use one jalapeno the next time I make this delicious concoction. I cooked on high in slow cooker for 2 hours then low for 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Sardella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I think this is a great recipe to start with and tweak to your own taste. I added 4 T. creole seasoning, no mushrooms, no jalapeno, used Hunt's spicy diced tomatoes (2 cans), + tomato paste(1 can), + 1 cup chicken broth, +frozen corn, +diced 3 small zucchinis, +more minced garlic, +1 bay leaf,+1 t. of red pepper flakes,1 diced bell pepper, and no celery. Served over rice with a warm yeast roll on the side, and the family LOVED it!!! I get ideas from recipes, we all have different taste buds. So I give this (idea)recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe, but next time I will add additional Creole Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I just had to tweak this a bit, but the result was fantastic and I will definitely be making it again, I substituted a 10oz can of chunky rotel for the tomatoes, and added a tbs of worcestershire, 1/2 cup marinated artichoke hearts, and 1/2 bottle of ale (I used an IPA, but feel free to sub or use chicken stock for liquid) 6 hours on high and it was tender and easy to fork. the next morning I poured a bit of the leftovers on three scrambled eggs with a bit of queso fresco and was gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRMTLSCP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I added some mild Cajun sausage... Grilled first, then sliced in medallions. I also took the onions, a thinly sliced poblano pepper (cored and de-seeded), minced garlic, sliced portabella mushroom caps and thinly sliced onions and browned them in a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil before adding them to the crock pot. I did omit the jalapeño pepper - family is not a fan... I used "Louisiana" gumbo seasoning for the roux. Yeah, I changed it a bit.... But the stew turned out so well, my Sweet Hubby was speechless!!! Being a Louisiana implant by marriage has taken my cooking skills up a notch!! Had too! In Louosiana, people don't eat to live, WE LIVE TO EAT!! Served over white medium grain rice. It was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger-Katrina Finley
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is absolutely my favorite recipe so far. I left out the jalapeno, because my family doesn't like things too spicy, and used 3 tablespoons of the Creole seasoning. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States