Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We absolutely loved this recipe!!!!! I used six chicken breasts. After I placed them in the bottom of my crock pot, I practically covered them with Creole Seasoning. (I used Tony Charachere's - a staple here in south Louisiana.) I added to the original recipe 1/2 can tomato paste, about l cup of chicken broth, and one can of Rotel tomatoes. I used 3 stalks of celery, 4 whole cloves of garlic plus 3 cloves minced, 3 fresh jalapena peppers, seeded and chopped. Instead of a four ounce can of mushrooms, I used a package of sliced, fresh mushrooms. I cooked it on low for six hours, then switched it to high for two more. I served it over rice. In fact, I used a brand new kind of rice (new to me) I found at the grocery this morning: a blend of texmati white, brown, wild and red rice made by Royal Blend. I don't know how much it added to the recipe, but we sure liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I took this recipe and suggestions and came made it soo good there wasn't any leftovers. I took 6 chicken quarters seperated into leg and thigh. Added 3 tbl of creole seasoning, 14.5 can whole tomatoes, 1/2 can tomato paste, 3 jalapenos whole, 1 small bay leaf, 2 red onions quartered, 2 stalks celery, 12 cloves of garlic (whole)I didn't put bell pepper or mushrooms because I didn't have any. I'm sure it would be wonderful with it. It was juicy and had a kick to it. I took the broth and put it in a pan and reduced it a bit then added flour to make a roux. Last minute addition was 1/2 lb kielbasa I heated then added to the mix (just an afterthought) served this with "Cuban beans and rice" found on here. it was excellent! I'm sure there will be no complain of it being bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This recipe was excellent. I will definately be making it again. I took the advice of others and added more spices. I added tobassco, red pepper flakes, cayanne and extra garlic because I love garlic. I prepared everything the night before and threw it all together before I left for work. The apartment smelled so good when I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
As a native New Orleanian I just couldn't make this without fixing it so that it would be more like Creole and not just chicken in tomato sauce, so I added some ingredients that are in a classic Creole sauce, (well ignoring that it's not shrimp, but chicken). I cut up the chicken into small pieces, used 28oz of crushed tomato in a can instead of the stewed tomatos, added 1/4 - 1/2 c dry white wine, abt. 5 dashes of worcestershire sauce, abt. 8-10 dashes of hot sauce, and a pat of butter. I omitted the mushrooms, and jalapenos, (not Creole). It's still not a true Creole sauce, but it's decent to put over rice and serve to the family or close friends as long as I don't claim it's Creole. BTW a true Creole sauce takes a million ingredients and half of your day, Creole is the fancy New Orleans style of cooking and almost always has some kind of sauce. Cajun cooking is more country fare and can usually be made in one or two pots. Cajun cooks had a farm or a boat to tend to and didn't have time for fancy dishes, unlike the wealthier people in the city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
A true delicacy!! 5 stars doesn't do justice to this succulent dish! I added an additional onion, 1/2 can of tomato paste, 1 cup of chicken broth. Cooked in crock pot on high for 5 hours & served over white rice... chicken turned out EXTREMELY tender & moist! Next time I think I'll add okra & substitute shrimp for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
This was a great recipe. I made a few changes to it. I 86'd the jalepenos and added some tobasco. I also only put two chicken breasts (because there are only two of us) and since there was a lot of juice, I added some instant rice and it made a perfect one pot meal. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKELFISH27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I doubled the amount of chicken and pretty much kept the rest of the recipe the same, however I used the Creole Seasoning Blend found also on this site (which is an excellent seasoning!!) Cooked on low for 12 hours, and the chicken was fork tender. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Excellent. Instead of the jalapeno pepper, though, I added tobasco sauce and I only cooked it for 9 hours instead of 10 hours on low. The chicken was tender and all the flavors blended in together. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This was good and easy to make and not at all spicy. If you like your dishes hotter, I would take the recommendation of other reviewers and add hot sauce, pepper flakes, or more jalapeños. I put the chicken breasts in the slow cooker frozen and cooked on high for about 6 hrs. Turned out perfectly. My husband loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make and it came out full of flavor and so tender. You could probably pour over pasta or rice, but we just ate it plain and went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States