Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastic recipe! The chicken was nice and juicy, it had some good spice and texture and as it says, it's absolutely perfect over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This turned out really good, so I am adding it to my dinner rotation. I did substitute the jalapeno for a habanero pepper. It gave it a kick! I also added a small can of tomato sauce. I served this over white rice. The whole family enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Most excellent. So easy and tasty. I served over brown rice. Will definitely use this recipe again & again. Thank you, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Chicken came out perfect and had a fabulous flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm from the south and it was really good! Only change up I would suggest is for families with children eliminate the jalapeno pepper. It was too spicy for my little ones, but other than that flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a huge hit in our house! I bought Tony Chachere's "More Spice" Seasoning and coated the chicken liberally. I let it marinate while I chopped the vegetables. I omitted mushrooms and celery and added 3 zucchinis. I added 1/2 a can of tomato paste and a can of chicken broth and used diced jalapeno peppers I had in the fridge instead of fresh (about 1 1/2 teaspoons-we like it hot around here). Other than these changes, I followed the recipe as written. My husband loved it and the house smelled amazing when we returned from shopping. I am not sure why some people haven't been impressed with this. I think "season to taste" has something to do with it. They are probably not putting enough seasoning in. Sprinkle the heck outta that chicken and let it sit while you chop everything and you should be impressed! Thanks for the recipe, Mary:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very easy and delicious dish! I added black beans, pineapples, and corn. I used 4 tablespoons of creole seasoning. Served it over brown rice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
My husband would give it 5, I would give it 3. He loves it. I'm mixed. I made it exactly as described in the recipe, and it didn't need extra liquid. It's not supposed to be a soup. I would say that it definitely had flavor as is, but then also didn't...? It tasted a bit like a roast chicken from the super market, meaning that it tastes of chicken but not like bland chicken. I just couldn't categorize the flavor I was tasting. Because I was worried (reading reviews made me paranoid), before I dished up for everyone else, I also added a couple drops of Tabasco but I'm not sure it needed it. You can taste the Tabasco, but then you can taste the original meal flavor as a separate entity along side it. It's a very odd experience. But I will say that my mouth got saturated with it very quickly and I found I couldn't eat much. It made me crave things that were mellow flavored and sweet, like a cinnamon bun. Weird, no?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added a drained can of black beans to this recipe, and took out the jalapeno. Some of my family prefers bland food, and they even liked it. All in all it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is delicious! I made so many changes, and would not have liked the original recipe without them, so 5 stars is for finished product, not original recipe :) But it is so adaptable, it is a great recipe to start with. My changes: I used crushed tomatoes, 2 stalks celery, fresh mushrooms, 5 cloves garlic (our preference), 3 chicken breasts, and some sausage. It was not too spicy, perfect for our 2yr old. I think next time I will use 2 bell peppers, and 2 jalepenos and it still wouldn't be too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States