Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love cajun food. This is a great recipe. However, next time I will use hot sausage instead of chicken to maximize the cajun flavor! I also substituted canned japapenos as I did not have fresh and two cans of tomatoes to prevent dish from being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Somerville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was a terrific, quick, weeknight recipe. I put this together in about 15 minutes and let it go on low about 10 hours before serving over rice. I used Zatarran's creole seasoning sprinkled over the chicken, and added 4 sliced links of andouille sausage over that. Topped with the veggies and tomatoes, and added a cup of caldo de tomate/pollo broth, and more Zatarran's over that. I took the chicken out about 6 hours into the cooking time and shredded. Next time I make this I think I'll add some tomato paste, I would have liked a little more thickness/tomatoey taste to the broth. Overall, a very tasty dish and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
YUM!!!! I pretty much folllowed the recipe. instead of canned mushrooms i used pre-packaged sliced mushrooms & i added a 8 oz can of rotel zesty tomato & green chili sauce.YUM!!!!! The chicken was so tender & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma louis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I thought this recipe was just okay. Nothing spectacular. Kinda plain. Not sure what was so "creole" about it. i did give it 3 stars after i added a lot more creole and cajun seasoning, black beans, and rice. Don't think I'll bother again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Love this recipe. I did use thighs since that's what I had and I forgot to add the mushrooms. Other than that, followed the advice of others and added some chicken broth. Served with brown rice and sauted cabbage. Next time will probably add a bit of Tabaco as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This was a great recipe. After reading the other reviews, I added a can of tomato sauce, more garlic and more celery. Next time I will add more mushrooms as well. It is a very tasty dish, but not very spicy. Next time I will add some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Not good in the crock pot as there are so many spices and it all just ended up having one flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love it! Tastes amazing. I cooked mine on low for 8 hours, and it was perfect. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trinity, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Amount of cajun spice overwhelmed dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I will make again. I followed the directions exactly. I wish it were a bit juicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States