Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
As a native New Orleanian I just couldn't make this without fixing it so that it would be more like Creole and not just chicken in tomato sauce, so I added some ingredients that are in a classic Creole sauce, (well ignoring that it's not shrimp, but chicken). I cut up the chicken into small pieces, used 28oz of crushed tomato in a can instead of the stewed tomatos, added 1/4 - 1/2 c dry white wine, abt. 5 dashes of worcestershire sauce, abt. 8-10 dashes of hot sauce, and a pat of butter. I omitted the mushrooms, and jalapenos, (not Creole). It's still not a true Creole sauce, but it's decent to put over rice and serve to the family or close friends as long as I don't claim it's Creole. BTW a true Creole sauce takes a million ingredients and half of your day, Creole is the fancy New Orleans style of cooking and almost always has some kind of sauce. Cajun cooking is more country fare and can usually be made in one or two pots. Cajun cooks had a farm or a boat to tend to and didn't have time for fancy dishes, unlike the wealthier people in the city.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
It turned out okay but we ended up tweaking it. It's kind of frustrating that the creole seasoning says "to taste" when you're first making it because you don't know if you're putting too much or not enough. We ended up adding more towards the end and it still didn't have enough flavor or spice. We also threw in some tomato paste because there was a lot of liquid and not enough tomato flavor. In the end we added some hot sauce into our individual bowls and it tasted just fine. We'll give this recipe another go but will first read through more of the comments to see what other people did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very tasty! And so easy. I used a heavy amount of creole seasoning and also dumped about a half bag of okra in the crock. I used a bag of frozen chicken breasts and cooked for about 8 hours on low. Served over rice with cornbread. Big hit at the table and really healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this for a "Fat Tuesday" evening meal. I added the tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended, but no mushrooms. About 30 minutes before I turned the slow cooker off, I added one tablespoon of brown sugar and one tablespoon of soy sauce. It really amplified the taste. Divine! Such a pleasant meal to come in to after a long work day. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
We just finished this meal. I had high hopes, and I hope that I can make some changes to make it turn out better. It was so SALTY! I wasn't sure how much creole seasoning to put in because it wasn't listed. So I looked through other posts and someone said to put in 3 Tbsp, so I did. Now, I do think I'll give this another go but with much less creole seasoning - maybe even making my own so I know what's in it. It smelled wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This came out great. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't indicate how much seasoning to use, so I do feel that I got lucky and must have guessed right. I took others' advice and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste. I was very liberal with the creole seasoning (Zatarain's) after reading that some reviewers thought it was bland. I've been disappointed by a number of highly-rated recipes on this site, which I thought had no flavor at all. Not the case here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
did not care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I love a good slow cooker chicken recipe. I did use a can of green chilies because I had no jalapenos...probably not a spicy as original recipe but still delicious. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This recipe didn't really do anything for me. I took the suggestions of others and added 1 c. broth and some tomato paste, which was a great idea as far as making more sauce. I was worried that I'd seasoned the chicken too much with salt, pepper and a very liberal amount of Tony Chachere's, but this dish was still pretty bland. I'd added extra garlic as well. I used frozen chicken breasts and after 7 hours on hi they were perfectly tender, but overall I could take or leave this recipe. It's great for convenience since I typically have all of the ingredients, but I certainly wouldn't serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great served over good sticky rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States