Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is absolutely my favorite recipe so far. I left out the jalapeno, because my family doesn't like things too spicy, and used 3 tablespoons of the Creole seasoning. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Just added the Tomato paste and some broth. The rest is flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
It was easy...as are most slow-cooker dishes. I thought the basics were great, but as many other reviewers have said, I put in quite a bit more spice. With the added kick, it was a great addition to my rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe! I used 6 chicken breasts and seasoned them up, added olive oil to marinate it then put it in the fridge while I chopped up my veggies(cubed them chicks after). I used Chardonnay wine, crushed and diced tomatoes, a can of corn and a can of black beans. Also used 2 habanero peppers and omitted the mushrooms. I had to make my own creole seasoning. Was full of flavor and looked and smelled amazing! Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Creole or not this recipe turned out pretty good. It does need a little bit of extra flavoring though, I'm not sure what kind of flavoring but it does need something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made it exactly as described and it is excellent. I put a good bit of Tony Charachere's Creole Seasoning (Covered the chicken Breasts after putting them in the crock) and added a few shakes of ground red Cayenne Pepper along with the salt and black pepper, but I did not stray from the recipe beyond that. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe very much (my neighbors too!). I did make some changes, and will make a a couple more when I make it again (which I will). I added two jalapenos, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I was weary of adding the mushrooms and celery but did so the first time anyways. I don't believe one stalk would add any flavor but I did add three. I also added OKRA! A must!I aslo used Diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I seasoned the chicken with the south's creole staple seasoning, Tony's. I seasoned liberally. I did everything it asked above except for the fresh mushrooms, 2 jalapenos, okra, 3 stalks of celery, and added 2 whole cloves of garlic(along with the minced) and added chicken broth to make it a bit like a soup. It came out AMAZING, I added lots of Tony's and Tabasco sauce to taste throughout the way. This is really a "Season to Taste Recipe" Next time I will Omit the mushrooms, add three more jalapenos, one more bell pepper, 6 stalks of celery, the OKRA, an extra onion, two more pieces of chicken, and the diced(instead of stewed) tomatoes along with the broth that I added last time. It comes out almost like gumbo( not really, but I made mine like a soup to serve with rice) so maybe even adding some sausage to it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyCasey06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The recipe came together nice and easy, and it made my house smell great, but the end result was so bland! Creole food is supposed to have big flavors, and this just didn't. We had to add more salt and a generous amount of hot sauce at the table, just to make it taste like SOMETHING. I've got enough leftovers that I'm going to try to salvage in a soup, but I'm probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is the first time I have been disappointed by a recipe with such high reviews on this site. I followed this recipe exactly as written and I think that was the problem. Most other reviewers changed most of the recipe while still rating it 5 stars which is misleading. How can you rate it five stars if you changed so much of the recipe?? However, my main disappointment is with the title of the recipe, which is misleading, while the house smells amazing, this tastes NOTHING like creole chicken. It tastes honestly more like beef stew! (don't ask me how, still trying to figure that out) This recipe (without alterations) is great for someone looking for a hearty chicken stew. It is actually pretty tasty if that is what you want, its just hard to want it if you go all day expecting creole chicken for dinner. It ended up with very little liquid so I had to add another can of tomatoes and some corn just to help it out, and it still tastes like its missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States