Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Creole or not this recipe turned out pretty good. It does need a little bit of extra flavoring though, I'm not sure what kind of flavoring but it does need something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made it exactly as described and it is excellent. I put a good bit of Tony Charachere's Creole Seasoning (Covered the chicken Breasts after putting them in the crock) and added a few shakes of ground red Cayenne Pepper along with the salt and black pepper, but I did not stray from the recipe beyond that. Excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Mastran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe very much (my neighbors too!). I did make some changes, and will make a a couple more when I make it again (which I will). I added two jalapenos, and fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I was weary of adding the mushrooms and celery but did so the first time anyways. I don't believe one stalk would add any flavor but I did add three. I also added OKRA! A must!I aslo used Diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I seasoned the chicken with the south's creole staple seasoning, Tony's. I seasoned liberally. I did everything it asked above except for the fresh mushrooms, 2 jalapenos, okra, 3 stalks of celery, and added 2 whole cloves of garlic(along with the minced) and added chicken broth to make it a bit like a soup. It came out AMAZING, I added lots of Tony's and Tabasco sauce to taste throughout the way. This is really a "Season to Taste Recipe" Next time I will Omit the mushrooms, add three more jalapenos, one more bell pepper, 6 stalks of celery, the OKRA, an extra onion, two more pieces of chicken, and the diced(instead of stewed) tomatoes along with the broth that I added last time. It comes out almost like gumbo( not really, but I made mine like a soup to serve with rice) so maybe even adding some sausage to it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyCasey06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The recipe came together nice and easy, and it made my house smell great, but the end result was so bland! Creole food is supposed to have big flavors, and this just didn't. We had to add more salt and a generous amount of hot sauce at the table, just to make it taste like SOMETHING. I've got enough leftovers that I'm going to try to salvage in a soup, but I'm probably not making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is the first time I have been disappointed by a recipe with such high reviews on this site. I followed this recipe exactly as written and I think that was the problem. Most other reviewers changed most of the recipe while still rating it 5 stars which is misleading. How can you rate it five stars if you changed so much of the recipe?? However, my main disappointment is with the title of the recipe, which is misleading, while the house smells amazing, this tastes NOTHING like creole chicken. It tastes honestly more like beef stew! (don't ask me how, still trying to figure that out) This recipe (without alterations) is great for someone looking for a hearty chicken stew. It is actually pretty tasty if that is what you want, its just hard to want it if you go all day expecting creole chicken for dinner. It ended up with very little liquid so I had to add another can of tomatoes and some corn just to help it out, and it still tastes like its missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Excellent and easy to make. Only thing I changed was added a couple of bay leaves and substituted fresh mushrooms which need to be added about half way through the cooking. Have made it several times and have found cooking on low produces the best texture and tender chicken. Serve over white rice and it is wonderful, and low calorie and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dejjenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I added a glass of dry white wine and more chicken, cut out the mushrooms, and substituted the stewed tomato for crushed. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
The only thing I changed is adding more celery (as much as the bell pepper, for the correct "trinity" ), 6 breasts, and a cup of chicken stock. Incredibly easy and tasty, the whole family loved this. Pro tip: it makes AWESOME omlette filler with a bit of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
very good and flavourful! I used the creole seasoning also found on this site, and then added 3tbsp of it to this recipe (as per others suggestions). Family loved it and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
It was ok, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN

Displaying results 11-20 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States