Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this exactly as directed in recipe except I browned the chicken a bit first. It was excellent! The only thing I would do is add some spice, maybe some red pepper flakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Made this just as written. The family thought it was OK. The chicken was cooked to perfection. Just needed more spicing up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I added some extras to mine. I added about 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth to it, 1/2 in the beginning and the other 1/2 of the broth when I added in about 1/2 lb of louisiana andouille sausage in the last hour of the cooking. I also added in about 2 tsp of tomato paste and some extra hot peppers to it at the beginning. Before I put the sausage in I decided to go ahead and shred up the chicken since it was already falling apart so easily. It turned out wonderful! We put it on top of a bed of rice in a bowl and served! Even our three year old son who doesn't like spicy stuff couldn't resist this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this last night exactly as written, I only added 2 additional cloves of garlic and 1 additional jalepeno pepper and I just don't understand how it got such high reviews. It didn't taste bad, but it wasn't incredible either. It tasted like a chicken soup...and that was it. I'm giving it 3 stars b/c it was ok, but not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I really liked how this turned out. I will admit though that I made adjustments suggested by other reviewers. The creole seasoning I used had plenty of salt so I didn't add any additional salt or pepper. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed plus added a can of Rotel. I also added 1/2 small can of tomato paste, some extra garlic and about 1 cup low sodium chicken broth. I also put in some okra the last half hour or so of cooking. I omitted the mushrooms but that was just because family won't eat them. I cooked on low and everything was plenty done after about 9 hours. Since dinner wasn't for a while yet I ended up adding a cup of water the last little bit. (I chose water over broth since already seemed salty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I used a Creole Seasoning recipe from this site and it came out nice and spicy! Served it over rice, might be too spicy for soup but I'll make better adjustments on that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This really turned out aweful. I had high hopes after reading other reviews, but i found it just spicey and bland. My family wouldn't eat it, so i ended up adding a jar of salsa, corn, and black beans to make it more of a taco soup dish that i served with sprinked cheese and sour cream (tortillas on the side) That came out pretty good, and has since been requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was good but seemed like it was missing something. After adding in some hot sauce and brown sugar it was great! I used chicken legs and thighs and the meat was falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was everything promised, an easy crockpot recipe with satisfying Creole flavor. Although my husband and I liked the heat, I will probably leave out the jalepeno out next time for the kids. I served mine over brown rice. I plan on heating the leftovers mixed with sour cream to serve over linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love New Orleans style cooking! This is all so easy to make and full of flavor. I followed the recipe and added 1 8oz tomato paste, 1 can of chicken broth, Tony Charachere's creole spice, extra celery, fresh thick cut mushrooms, good amount of minced garlic, I like to use okra instead of green pepper, 1 can Rotel as well as 1 can of stewed tomatoes .. Cooked for 9hrs, 8 would have been fine. Served with rice. Ah so good. 1 jalapeno gave it a kick!! Left overs even better!! I guess you get the idea I really loved this will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States