Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Absolutely wonderful, thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. The only change I made though was that I added 3 tablespoons of tomato paste to give it a slightly richer flavour. A definite cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janzjewelz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caerphilly, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I love this recipe I serve it over rice and make it extra spicy. The only change I make is I use fresh mushrooms instead of canned, and I add a little bit more garlic that it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made this exactly as directed in recipe except I browned the chicken a bit first. It was excellent! The only thing I would do is add some spice, maybe some red pepper flakes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Made this just as written. The family thought it was OK. The chicken was cooked to perfection. Just needed more spicing up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I added some extras to mine. I added about 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth to it, 1/2 in the beginning and the other 1/2 of the broth when I added in about 1/2 lb of louisiana andouille sausage in the last hour of the cooking. I also added in about 2 tsp of tomato paste and some extra hot peppers to it at the beginning. Before I put the sausage in I decided to go ahead and shred up the chicken since it was already falling apart so easily. It turned out wonderful! We put it on top of a bed of rice in a bowl and served! Even our three year old son who doesn't like spicy stuff couldn't resist this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this last night exactly as written, I only added 2 additional cloves of garlic and 1 additional jalepeno pepper and I just don't understand how it got such high reviews. It didn't taste bad, but it wasn't incredible either. It tasted like a chicken soup...and that was it. I'm giving it 3 stars b/c it was ok, but not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I really liked how this turned out. I will admit though that I made adjustments suggested by other reviewers. The creole seasoning I used had plenty of salt so I didn't add any additional salt or pepper. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed plus added a can of Rotel. I also added 1/2 small can of tomato paste, some extra garlic and about 1 cup low sodium chicken broth. I also put in some okra the last half hour or so of cooking. I omitted the mushrooms but that was just because family won't eat them. I cooked on low and everything was plenty done after about 9 hours. Since dinner wasn't for a while yet I ended up adding a cup of water the last little bit. (I chose water over broth since already seemed salty!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I used a Creole Seasoning recipe from this site and it came out nice and spicy! Served it over rice, might be too spicy for soup but I'll make better adjustments on that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This really turned out aweful. I had high hopes after reading other reviews, but i found it just spicey and bland. My family wouldn't eat it, so i ended up adding a jar of salsa, corn, and black beans to make it more of a taco soup dish that i served with sprinked cheese and sour cream (tortillas on the side) That came out pretty good, and has since been requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
It was good but seemed like it was missing something. After adding in some hot sauce and brown sugar it was great! I used chicken legs and thighs and the meat was falling off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States