Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very tasty! And so easy. I used a heavy amount of creole seasoning and also dumped about a half bag of okra in the crock. I used a bag of frozen chicken breasts and cooked for about 8 hours on low. Served over rice with cornbread. Big hit at the table and really healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this for a "Fat Tuesday" evening meal. I added the tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended, but no mushrooms. About 30 minutes before I turned the slow cooker off, I added one tablespoon of brown sugar and one tablespoon of soy sauce. It really amplified the taste. Divine! Such a pleasant meal to come in to after a long work day. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
We just finished this meal. I had high hopes, and I hope that I can make some changes to make it turn out better. It was so SALTY! I wasn't sure how much creole seasoning to put in because it wasn't listed. So I looked through other posts and someone said to put in 3 Tbsp, so I did. Now, I do think I'll give this another go but with much less creole seasoning - maybe even making my own so I know what's in it. It smelled wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This came out great. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't indicate how much seasoning to use, so I do feel that I got lucky and must have guessed right. I took others' advice and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste. I was very liberal with the creole seasoning (Zatarain's) after reading that some reviewers thought it was bland. I've been disappointed by a number of highly-rated recipes on this site, which I thought had no flavor at all. Not the case here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
did not care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I love a good slow cooker chicken recipe. I did use a can of green chilies because I had no jalapenos...probably not a spicy as original recipe but still delicious. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This recipe didn't really do anything for me. I took the suggestions of others and added 1 c. broth and some tomato paste, which was a great idea as far as making more sauce. I was worried that I'd seasoned the chicken too much with salt, pepper and a very liberal amount of Tony Chachere's, but this dish was still pretty bland. I'd added extra garlic as well. I used frozen chicken breasts and after 7 hours on hi they were perfectly tender, but overall I could take or leave this recipe. It's great for convenience since I typically have all of the ingredients, but I certainly wouldn't serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great served over good sticky rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
We ate this recipe and thought it tasted good, but it didn't smell right. Maybe I did something wrong. I will try it again. I appreciate your recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
The flavor of the chicken was good but it was kind of bland. This recipe needs something. This recipe was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States