Slow Cooker Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this for a "Fat Tuesday" evening meal. I added the tomato sauce as one reviewer recommended, but no mushrooms. About 30 minutes before I turned the slow cooker off, I added one tablespoon of brown sugar and one tablespoon of soy sauce. It really amplified the taste. Divine! Such a pleasant meal to come in to after a long work day. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cullen, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
We just finished this meal. I had high hopes, and I hope that I can make some changes to make it turn out better. It was so SALTY! I wasn't sure how much creole seasoning to put in because it wasn't listed. So I looked through other posts and someone said to put in 3 Tbsp, so I did. Now, I do think I'll give this another go but with much less creole seasoning - maybe even making my own so I know what's in it. It smelled wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This came out great. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it doesn't indicate how much seasoning to use, so I do feel that I got lucky and must have guessed right. I took others' advice and added a few tablespoons of tomato paste. I was very liberal with the creole seasoning (Zatarain's) after reading that some reviewers thought it was bland. I've been disappointed by a number of highly-rated recipes on this site, which I thought had no flavor at all. Not the case here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
did not care for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I love a good slow cooker chicken recipe. I did use a can of green chilies because I had no jalapenos...probably not a spicy as original recipe but still delicious. I served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This recipe didn't really do anything for me. I took the suggestions of others and added 1 c. broth and some tomato paste, which was a great idea as far as making more sauce. I was worried that I'd seasoned the chicken too much with salt, pepper and a very liberal amount of Tony Chachere's, but this dish was still pretty bland. I'd added extra garlic as well. I used frozen chicken breasts and after 7 hours on hi they were perfectly tender, but overall I could take or leave this recipe. It's great for convenience since I typically have all of the ingredients, but I certainly wouldn't serve it to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great served over good sticky rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
We ate this recipe and thought it tasted good, but it didn't smell right. Maybe I did something wrong. I will try it again. I appreciate your recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
The flavor of the chicken was good but it was kind of bland. This recipe needs something. This recipe was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was really good and one of the easiest meals to assemble. I couldn't believe that there was so much flavor in this meal with so little preparation. We ate it over egg noodles. I might add an chorizo or a different kind of sausage next time just to enhance the flavors. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STUUUAAART

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States