Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This is wonderful--the chicken and dried beef go well together. I did make a few changes to the recipe: 1) I used 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, and 2 cups of sour cream (hey--I like a LOT of gravy) 2) Added a packet of Lipton Onion soup mix 3) Added a cup of shredded cheddar cheese 4) Increased the flour to 1/2 cup Layered everything like recipe said (you don't even have to thaw the chicken breasts--I put them in frozen. After 8 hours in crock pot, everything was done--chicken very tender and sauce was great. Served this with rice and asparagus--all I can say is this meal was terrific!!!!!! Try this--you will really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I rated this once and then came back to rate it again. I first gave it 5 stars then came back and gave it three. You see...I make this and have for years. I make it by taking regular chicken breasts and lining a 9x13 pan and mixing one can of soup and a small carton of sour cream and covering the top. Sometimes I line the bottom of the pan with "buddig" beef. (the little packages in the packaged meat aisle) At first I gave it 5 stars but then after I fed it to my family - they all thought the crockpot version was not as good as the regular oven version I make. (not sure why but it turned out much juicier in the fast method. I also wrap a slice of bacon around each piece of chicken when I am using it for company or if I have bacon in the fridge - I then bake it for 45 minutes on 400 - For me - this turns out better and the family agrees. Perhaps I cooked it too long - but I took it off way sooner than the recipe called for already - so watch the time - or it will dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I used my larger crockpot and after reading the other reviews, I changed my recipe to 2 lbs. frozen chicken, 1 1/2 C. sour cream, two cans of soup and one 4.5 oz jar of dried beef that I rinsed. The chicken was the most tender I've ever had. Leftovers were great! Will definitely make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
We love this recipe! I used the packaged dryed beef found in the lunchmeat section in the grocery store; this dryed beef is not as salty as the dryed beef in the jars. I also microwaved some bacon slices (partially cooked the bacon) and wrapped the bacon slices around the chicken breasts. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
There MUST be a typo in this recipe. It calls for 2 oz. jars of dried beef. I used 2 2.5 oz jars and it was pretty salty. Next time I would use one small jar and layer it VERY sparingly. The recipe itself is WONDERFUL! I used frozen breasts, cooked on high for one hour then on low for 7. It was GREAT! I'm most definately use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Easy AND delicious. I will make this again and again. It's too bad nobody else has rated this. I certainly hope that doesn't mean they haven't tried it. They are missing out. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was a great dish even though I changed a few things. I doubled the sauce, added onion soup powder, package of sliced mushrooms, cheddar cheese, and I used 8oz of rinsed dried beef. It was absolutely delish!! I served it with a side of wild and long grain rice, and green beans. This one's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I couldn't get dried beef, so I subsituted for fried bacon and cut them up into bits. I added 1 can of cream of mushroom & potatoe & 1 can of cream of chicken - love gravy! Added roasted garlic - 1 tablespoon and 1/2 cup of dry sherry. Simple recipe and variations of this recipe can be done. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is such an easy recipe. The chicken comes out tender & juicy. I have made this several times & it is great every time. I have added different spices to change the flavor (like paprika & fresh black pepper)and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I serve a similar recipe in my restaurant and it's a huge hit. I butter the bottom of a 7qt crock pot, line it with enough dried beef to cover the bottom in a single layer slightly overlapping (1 small jar or package 3 ounces--don't rinse the dried beef. 16 ounces is way to much for this recipe and makes it overly salty). Place 6 or 7 chicken breasts on the dried beef and add 2 cans each of cream of mushroom soup, cream of celery soup, cream of chicken soup (use enough soups to fill your pot after you've added everything. I usually add 2 cans of cream of chicken and mushroom on top of everything. You can use whatever creamy soup you like best). Add a package of dry onion soup mix. Take a pint of sour cream and mix with 1/4 cup flour and dump in. Be sure to mix flour and sour cream well...no lumps. Use a wisk and do this a little at a time. Finally, take a full pound of bacon, cut it into 1/4 inch pieces, lightly fry and add to crockpot. Can be cooked on high or low depending on how much time you have. Best cooked on low for 6 hours and high for 2 to finish. Give a good stir when you put the temp on high. You can keep the breasts whole, but I tear them apart with a fork as I mix everything up. This is wonderful served on egg noodles. I also serve it as a variation over biscuits for breakfast. You may notice the recipe tightening up if you have to re-heat it. If this happens just add some chicken stock to thin the gravey. This also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States