Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I rated this once and then came back to rate it again. I first gave it 5 stars then came back and gave it three. You see...I make this and have for years. I make it by taking regular chicken breasts and lining a 9x13 pan and mixing one can of soup and a small carton of sour cream and covering the top. Sometimes I line the bottom of the pan with "buddig" beef. (the little packages in the packaged meat aisle) At first I gave it 5 stars but then after I fed it to my family - they all thought the crockpot version was not as good as the regular oven version I make. (not sure why but it turned out much juicier in the fast method. I also wrap a slice of bacon around each piece of chicken when I am using it for company or if I have bacon in the fridge - I then bake it for 45 minutes on 400 - For me - this turns out better and the family agrees. Perhaps I cooked it too long - but I took it off way sooner than the recipe called for already - so watch the time - or it will dry it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I used my larger crockpot and after reading the other reviews, I changed my recipe to 2 lbs. frozen chicken, 1 1/2 C. sour cream, two cans of soup and one 4.5 oz jar of dried beef that I rinsed. The chicken was the most tender I've ever had. Leftovers were great! Will definitely make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was fairly tasty but I made a few changes to it. First, instead of dried meat I used prosciutto and just enough to form loose layers. Second, instead of a slow cooker I placed it in a casserole and baked at 275 for 3 hours covered with aluminum foil. Third, since it didn't look incredibly appetizing I sprinkled some paprika over the top when it was done, gave it a nice flavor. Lastly, to give some contrast to the mouthfeel, I sprinkled some japanese bread crumbs over it right before serving with butter garlic rice and broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I thought this was very dry and bland. However, my husband really liked it so I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
quite tasty! i only had a ( family sized ) 4oz package of dried beef so that is what i used. didn't rinse it before using and the salt content wasn't overpowering. next time i will add some sliced mushrooms and white pepper to the soup mixture. might venture to add some more beef but will definitely rinse it first. i served the chix with wild/long grain rice combo and fresh broccoli spears; made sure to put the beef on top of the chix ( it kind of moulded itself to the breasts! ) to complete the presentation ... we will be enjoying this again in the near future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This seemed like a great idea, but we found that using the 2 jars of dried beef just made things WAY TOO SALTY. If I did it again I would cut the beef back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I've gotta admit, all of the glowing reviews of this one surprised the heck out of me. It was VERY dry, the flour.soup/sour cream mixture turne into a strange, sponge-like thing and it smelled wrong. I swear I followed the recipe to the letter. Any idea what I could've done wrong? If I could figure out how to get the glowing results everyone else did, I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Marvel
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very delicious and easy to cook and make. I rinsed the dried beef and used healthy low sodium cream of mushroom soup. Cooked 4 hours in oven at 275.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This was delicious! I did use the two jars of beef but will probably do as some of the other reviewers suggested and use only one jar or use packaged beef or at least rinse the beef to reduce the saltiness. My hubby is a big salt-eater, though, so it was just fine for him, but it was a tad salty for me. This one will definitely get a lot of use from us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I used only one jar of beef AND I soaked it before cooking, and the dish wasn't quite salty enough for our tastes. I can tell it has a lot of potential, though. Next time, I'll try NOT soaking the one jar of beef. The recipe definitely needs pepper, and I think I'll try adding some fresh parsley next time. We served it over white rice and it was a bit bland, but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States