Slow Cooker Chicken Continental Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I used my larger crockpot and after reading the other reviews, I changed my recipe to 2 lbs. frozen chicken, 1 1/2 C. sour cream, two cans of soup and one 4.5 oz jar of dried beef that I rinsed. The chicken was the most tender I've ever had. Leftovers were great! Will definitely make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was fairly tasty but I made a few changes to it. First, instead of dried meat I used prosciutto and just enough to form loose layers. Second, instead of a slow cooker I placed it in a casserole and baked at 275 for 3 hours covered with aluminum foil. Third, since it didn't look incredibly appetizing I sprinkled some paprika over the top when it was done, gave it a nice flavor. Lastly, to give some contrast to the mouthfeel, I sprinkled some japanese bread crumbs over it right before serving with butter garlic rice and broccoli and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I thought this was very dry and bland. However, my husband really liked it so I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
quite tasty! i only had a ( family sized ) 4oz package of dried beef so that is what i used. didn't rinse it before using and the salt content wasn't overpowering. next time i will add some sliced mushrooms and white pepper to the soup mixture. might venture to add some more beef but will definitely rinse it first. i served the chix with wild/long grain rice combo and fresh broccoli spears; made sure to put the beef on top of the chix ( it kind of moulded itself to the breasts! ) to complete the presentation ... we will be enjoying this again in the near future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This seemed like a great idea, but we found that using the 2 jars of dried beef just made things WAY TOO SALTY. If I did it again I would cut the beef back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I've gotta admit, all of the glowing reviews of this one surprised the heck out of me. It was VERY dry, the flour.soup/sour cream mixture turne into a strange, sponge-like thing and it smelled wrong. I swear I followed the recipe to the letter. Any idea what I could've done wrong? If I could figure out how to get the glowing results everyone else did, I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMARVEL
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very delicious and easy to cook and make. I rinsed the dried beef and used healthy low sodium cream of mushroom soup. Cooked 4 hours in oven at 275.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This was delicious! I did use the two jars of beef but will probably do as some of the other reviewers suggested and use only one jar or use packaged beef or at least rinse the beef to reduce the saltiness. My hubby is a big salt-eater, though, so it was just fine for him, but it was a tad salty for me. This one will definitely get a lot of use from us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I used only one jar of beef AND I soaked it before cooking, and the dish wasn't quite salty enough for our tastes. I can tell it has a lot of potential, though. Next time, I'll try NOT soaking the one jar of beef. The recipe definitely needs pepper, and I think I'll try adding some fresh parsley next time. We served it over white rice and it was a bit bland, but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
So easy and good. The chicken ended up so tender after 8 hours in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States