Slow Cooker Chicken Chili with Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I love this after spicing it up. I add a couple of jalepenos in addition to increasing the chili powder and the garlic and herb seasoning by 50-100%. It's one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was very delicious and hearty.. cut the recipe in half and used all white kidney beans, a can of rotel for the diced tomatoes, and about 2 1/2 cups of fresh kale.. didn't saute the onion before adding it in.. used 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp cumin as others did for the garlic and herb seasoning.. reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp.. used two small breasts for the large and left out the heavy cream.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Made the recipe as written and it wasn't very flavorful - which is fine by me because I don't like spicy. I liked that it incorporated the kale (it's so good for you and the kids had no idea it was there). Easy to throw together for a weeknight dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is wonderful. I just used a can of drained turnip greens instead of kale and used rotel tomatoes. I had some turned up noses when I told what it had in it but after my family tried it, they requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I thought this was a good recipe for a one pot meal. I substituted fat free evaporated milk for the heavy cream. It has the same thickening/creaming without all the fat. I also only used 3 cups of broth. In addition, I added cumin instead of the herb mix and added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was really good. I added garbanzo beans along with the white and black beans, one can of each. Kale would've been good, but I didn't have any so I used frozen collard greens instead. I sautéed garlic with the onion and added frozen chicken breasts straight from the freezer. I don't have any garlic and herb seasoning (and have no idea what's in it), so I generously added some garlic powder and a sprinkle of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this, but hubby complained about the kale while he ate a big bowl... So normal meal times in my house! I modified the recipe based on what I had, but I think still stayed true to recipe. I had dry white beans, so I started them in the crock pot the night before with some chicken broth, and added the onion and garlic (no garlic and herb seasoning), half the chili powder, and a generous amount of cumin. The next morning I proceeded with the recipe as written, adding kale, the rest of the chili powder, etc., and letting it slow cook for about 6 1/2 more hours. I did use fresh kale, about 4 or 5 cups, rather than frozen pre-cooked, and left out the salt because of all the broth I used. Because of dietary issues, I also subbed a brick of softened low fat cream cheese for the cream. Saved on fat, and the blood sugar problems of lactose. I garnished with a shredded queso and sliced avocado. Thanks for sharing! And tho the recipe didn't specify, I did not drain my tomatoes when I added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a while. I finally did last night. I turned out better than expected!! I did make some changes to the recipe: I add carrot and celery and cooked the veggies and onion in the slow cooker because I wanted all the flavors in the chili (it also made it a one pot dish. instead of using cream to thicken it I pureed halve the beans and added a little corn starch. At the end I added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to make it sweet and spicy. I think the only thing I would change for next time is to add some cream corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We really enjoyed this soup. I just added more seasonings and some jalapenos for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It was great, I wish I had more Kale to add to it. I didn't have much left in my garden. I made it as we were having a overnight house guest and needed to do something in the slow cooker as I would not have time after work to do much cooking. She loved it and went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby Kopenski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States