Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
No flavor. Couldn't tell a green pepper from an onion. Overcooked! I will make it again on my stove top. The veggies will be crisp and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
First time I have put in a review. I followed kmilti's suggestions - great. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Sauce was very thin and didn't stick to the pasta, even with less sauce than it called for. Flavor was only so-so. I did use less onion and pepper to accommodate my family so I upped the garlic and added some basil. Didn't matter. Chicken turned out slightly stringy and dry. Really not my favorite texture. Will not have again unless I can figure out how to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made this recipe with 8 chicken thighs. I rubbed them with the minced garlic. Added all ingredients, substituting 1 jar of vodka sauce and included 1 small can of tomato paste (as suggested by others). My husband loved the recipe (definitely a keeper). I liked using the thighs and de-boned them at the end of cooking time (only 8 bones to take out!). So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good! I'm going to try cooking it for about 6 hours next time, the chicken was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Tasty.Used red pepper instead of green.Added a can of tomatoe paste as others suggested(recommended).Spiced it up before cooking as well.Added garlic powder ,ground pepper , crushed red pepper flakes ,oregano and a pinch of salt.Used frozen chicken breasts and it was done in exactly 7 hrs.With these changes will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is definitely a keeper. Make sure to go by the revisions by kmilti, they are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really good. I implemented a LOT of changes as other reviewers indicated. I started with bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, sprinkled on salt and pepper, and browned in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and set aside. I then added the minced garlic, cooked for about 30 seconds, and deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I added 14 oz spaghetti sauce to the crockpot, 1 pepper, 1 onion, 8 oz sliced mushrooms, and a healthy pinch of crushed red pepper and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. I then added in the red wine mixture, mixed it all, and added the thighs. I cooked for 5 hours on low, and took out the thighs one hour before finished, removed the meat from the bones, and added back to the crockpot. Once finished, I put it all in a glass pan, topped with shredded mozzarella, and broiled until spotty brown, then served over rigatoni. Okay, I sure made a lot of changes, but it was FABULOUS and will be going in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I just wasn't crazy about this. It was ok. I might make it again, if I have all ingredients on hand and need an easy crock pot, weeknight meal, but I think it just lacked something. I sauteed my veggies b/c I prefer them that way in most crock pot dishes...esp the onions. Other than that, I made it just as directed, and it just needed a kick. I added some salt/pepper, and cayenne....but it still just needed a bit of something else. Not bad, just felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I thought this was just okay. I've never made the "real thing", but I'd imagine it's a lot more complicated and this is a simple, quick version of it. I made it exactly as written (couldn't find a 28-oz. jar of pasta sauce, so measured it out from a 45-oz. jar). I cooked it for the full 9 hours, and the sauce came out fairly watery (a common hazard of slow-cooking, I find). I served it over angel-hair pasta, as suggested. It lasted me for six meals. It's easy and fairly healthy, I guess, but it just wasn't all that impressive. I think that a thicker sauce and varied chicken pieces (instead of just 6 breast halves) might have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States