Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Very good! I'm going to try cooking it for about 6 hours next time, the chicken was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Tasty.Used red pepper instead of green.Added a can of tomatoe paste as others suggested(recommended).Spiced it up before cooking as well.Added garlic powder ,ground pepper , crushed red pepper flakes ,oregano and a pinch of salt.Used frozen chicken breasts and it was done in exactly 7 hrs.With these changes will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is definitely a keeper. Make sure to go by the revisions by kmilti, they are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really good. I implemented a LOT of changes as other reviewers indicated. I started with bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, sprinkled on salt and pepper, and browned in 1 tablespoon of olive oil and set aside. I then added the minced garlic, cooked for about 30 seconds, and deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I added 14 oz spaghetti sauce to the crockpot, 1 pepper, 1 onion, 8 oz sliced mushrooms, and a healthy pinch of crushed red pepper and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. I then added in the red wine mixture, mixed it all, and added the thighs. I cooked for 5 hours on low, and took out the thighs one hour before finished, removed the meat from the bones, and added back to the crockpot. Once finished, I put it all in a glass pan, topped with shredded mozzarella, and broiled until spotty brown, then served over rigatoni. Okay, I sure made a lot of changes, but it was FABULOUS and will be going in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I just wasn't crazy about this. It was ok. I might make it again, if I have all ingredients on hand and need an easy crock pot, weeknight meal, but I think it just lacked something. I sauteed my veggies b/c I prefer them that way in most crock pot dishes...esp the onions. Other than that, I made it just as directed, and it just needed a kick. I added some salt/pepper, and cayenne....but it still just needed a bit of something else. Not bad, just felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I thought this was just okay. I've never made the "real thing", but I'd imagine it's a lot more complicated and this is a simple, quick version of it. I made it exactly as written (couldn't find a 28-oz. jar of pasta sauce, so measured it out from a 45-oz. jar). I cooked it for the full 9 hours, and the sauce came out fairly watery (a common hazard of slow-cooking, I find). I served it over angel-hair pasta, as suggested. It lasted me for six meals. It's easy and fairly healthy, I guess, but it just wasn't all that impressive. I think that a thicker sauce and varied chicken pieces (instead of just 6 breast halves) might have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This tasted good but I was really disappointed the sauce was 'watery'. I didn't read reviews prior to making this, I usually don't. I only used 4 breasts and used a 5 qt crockpot which was very full. I didn't have spaghetti so I used fettucine instead. Will try again but will have to do something to make the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Left the mushrooms out and this was wonderful! Even the 3 yr old loved it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My family did not like this at all. They said that the chicken had no flavor and the sauce was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
A family favorite! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States