Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I just love this recipe! I use 6 skinless thighs for more flavor and 2 to 3 chicken breasts also skinless. I prefer 1 red bell pepper cut up and I sautéed my mushrooms first so the recipe is not as watery. I first slice a onion and lay slices on bottom of crock pot, then I add the thighs, then breasts, pour your favorite jar of sauce ( I use Gia Russa hot Sicilian ) then on top I lay the sautéed mushrooms, 3 diced fresh cloves of garlic and then a red and green bell coarsely chopped. I serve with ziti or penne! Wow what a comfort food for the whole family:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was very soupy. I read others' recommendations to add tomato paste, but unfortunately I had none in the cupboard. Luckily, I had an extra jar of spaghetti sauce and mixed that in. Quick prep time, so even though its not my favorite, this will go into rotation, but not without tomato paste next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
As written, I think this recipe would be pretty bland. I tweaked it a bit and it's perfect for a heat wave like we've been having, where the last thing I want to do is turn the oven on! I cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. I also cut up a package of sweet Italian sausage and tossed that in. I left the mushrooms out because we don't eat them and I added a bay leaf and some cayenne pepper. I am serving it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Really flavorful for how easy it was. Added basil, crushed red pepper, and onion powder. Used 3 cloves garlic. We really enjoyed the sauce, and can use the leftovers for so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was soooo good. I made this while we were on vacation and it was a big hit! I added cut up sweet sausage to mine and also added a little cumin and chili powder to give it a little kick. Will definately be making this again. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was really good. My husband said that it tasted better the next day. I mixed red and green peppers instead of just green peppers. I made it for 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thelma Diekfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Maine, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made as directed and served over noodles. Good recipe, although next time I will use homemade spaghetti sauce (personal pref). I liked that all the ingredients are staples in my house. Thank you for sharing what will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
After not loving it the first time, I used the kmilti review but added the whole pepper and a whole jar of spaghetti sauce (what would I do with the rest?). I like left over sauce and made garlic cheese biscuits to dip in it too. I also only had 2 frozen chicken breast but it worked just fine! Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I altered this quite a bit in the meat and tomato department, but I think the original recipe would be great also. I am not a fan of boneless/skinless breasts or jarred sauce, so I used chicken leg quarters and made my own tomato sauce with a large can of crushed, large can of diced, a can of tomato sauce and a small can of paste. I seasoned the sauce with about 3 Tbs of Italian seasoning, some fresh basil, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. I mixed the sauce in a seperate bowl before pouring it over the chicken in the crockpot. I also browned the quarters in a bit of oil before placing them in the crockpot, and then sauteed a diced med. onion in the drippings before adding it to the sauce. I used 5 quarters, and had plenty of sauce to cover them fully. Simmered on low for 8 hours, and the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy, and the sauce was great. I let the kids pick the pasta, and they choose tri-color spirals, which worked great, albeit not very Italian... I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as it is. It's is very bland and watery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States