Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I altered this quite a bit in the meat and tomato department, but I think the original recipe would be great also. I am not a fan of boneless/skinless breasts or jarred sauce, so I used chicken leg quarters and made my own tomato sauce with a large can of crushed, large can of diced, a can of tomato sauce and a small can of paste. I seasoned the sauce with about 3 Tbs of Italian seasoning, some fresh basil, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. I mixed the sauce in a seperate bowl before pouring it over the chicken in the crockpot. I also browned the quarters in a bit of oil before placing them in the crockpot, and then sauteed a diced med. onion in the drippings before adding it to the sauce. I used 5 quarters, and had plenty of sauce to cover them fully. Simmered on low for 8 hours, and the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender and juicy, and the sauce was great. I let the kids pick the pasta, and they choose tri-color spirals, which worked great, albeit not very Italian... I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly as it is. It's is very bland and watery. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I gave it 4 stars because I felt like I needed to add more garlic, salt, pepper, basil and oregano for flavor, but it's still such an easy meal and the chicken comes out nice and tender! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was quite yummy. I did not add the mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them, but it was still yummy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
It was ok but not something I would make again. Very Bland. Even with adding extra garlic and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Pretty good and easy....I added a little salt, fresh cracked pepper, oregano and dried basil leaves for more flavor. Served over whole grain angel hair pasta and steamed broccoli on the side. I topped mine with some grated romano cheese and hot ted pepper flakes. Next time I will add a can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce and maybe add some wine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
My husband loved this tonight and went back for 3rds. I also made some homemade bread and this was excellent with the cassiatore. I followed some of the other reviews and added frozen chicken, but they were tenders. I also added chicken broth instead of wine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I usually do not like to criticize the recipes of others but this was a a waste of time. The sauce is super bland (my husband is Italian) I added extra spice, but it tasted like chicken stew in red sauce. I some of the reviews before I started, but we were disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Really liked the ease of this recipe. It tasted good, but the flavor was missing something. I should have cooked for a little less time. Overall it is a good recipe and I will make it again with a few minor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe! My 8 yr old son ate 5 (yes, FIVE) helpings so it's a keeper in my book! I shredded the chicken breasts before serving and mixed them back into the sauce, then served over penne noodles, along with a salad and garlic bread. Super easy meal and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States