Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
So easy to put together and everyone liked it! I did shred chicken at the end. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious and easy. Picky husband enjoyed. I had chicken legs that were chewy when grilled and didn't know what to do with remaining as it was too much for one meal. Placed legs on bottom of crockpot and added a couple boneless breasts cut into thick pieces. I realized I was out of sauce so I used a 14.5 oz. diced tomatoes and small can of tomato paste (based on other recommendations). Not too watery at all. Used frozen diced bell peppers and the other ingredients in recipe. I also added Italian seasoning, basil, oregano, black pepper as well as the minced garlic. You can use any seasoning you like. I added a little crushed red pepper to mine as I like things spicy but family does not. Tender meat fell off the bone. Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was good. I would have never thought to do Chicken Cacciatore in the crock pot. I did add garlic and onions to the recipe and I used fire roasted red pepper sauce, and a sm can of crushed roasted red pepper tomatoes. I also omitted the noodle and poured it over white rice. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A Classic!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Can't beat the ease of this. Best advice was to add a can of tomato paste to thicken. I think cutting chunks (not finely diced) of onion, mushroom and zucchini made it a meal. Best served with brown rice. Set it at high for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The recipe is very easy but, a little on the bland side. The sauce was runny as well- not sure if that is because I added a can of tomatoes or what. I think the next time I make this I will add more garlic and fresh basil. All in all it was still a good dinner. I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and the chicken easily cut up but not mushy or shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor payout from this simple recipe. The bulk of my time was spent prepping. I chose to sautee everything before adding it to the crock pot. I think it helped with the veggies. I added carrots and celery, and b/c of my timing they remained just a bit crunchy still. It wasn't a deal breaker though. Browning the chicken was an unnecessary step since it made no difference after sitting in the slow cooker for that long (though still a waste of calories from the oil). I made my own sauce, and found that adding sugar (white) helped with the tartness. I've read that brown sugar works better though. I used a whole chicken cut up...the white parts cooked faster than the dark parts and pieces adjacent the the bone remained a bit undercooked. I think that with more experience with the slow cooker, my technique will improve. B/c the sauce was homemade, I did not find it runny at all. Overall, a good recipe. One thing, my crock pot book says that if you use a frozen bird, make sure to add enough liquid to distribute the heat better. So I guess this recipe is perfect for using a frozen bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Pretty good. I used 2 lbs. of chicken tenders & a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes, lots of garlic, about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning,some fresh rosemary, and a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes. At first it was very watery. I added 12 oz of tomato paste to thicken it up & it turned out well in the end. I cooked it for 5 hours on high (my crockpot isn't very hot), and it was done just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Try it with a cut up chicken and see the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I tried this just this weekend. I had to work all day and was looking for something fabulous that would be done by the time i got home. This recipe is a home run. I made it very close to the recipe, although I added more garlic and less mushrooms.( baby bella's.) I used a Ragu Robusto sauce and I added about a 1/4 cup of wine. I find that frozen chicken breast work well in the crock pot. I used four. According to my husband, it cooked nicely and smelled up the house something wonderful. I asked that he stir it a bit around hour 4 or so. When it was done, I noticed it was a tad runny. (maybe the wine?) I think a thicker sauce would have been better. Because of the consistancy i decided to serve it over some garlic butter rice instead of pasta. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again. Next time i'll try a thicker sauce and pair with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheelah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States