Slow Cooker Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I tweaked this recipe a bit and it turned out great!! Instead of the canned cheddar soup, I used 2 cups of shredded Mild Cheddar cheese, mixed in 8 ounces of sour cream, and 1 can of cream of chicken soup, undiluted. Also just before serving time, I threw most of it into a greased baking dish, put crushed cornflakes doused in butter on top of that, and put it in the oven for about 10 minutes or so to crisp up the top. Fabulous! Will make this again. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKSATHER2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were bland, so I called my friend who has a recipe that I had made before for these type of potatoes. So I added part of her recipe to it and what a difference this made. Wow. I added to this original recipe 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 green onion (diced),and 1 stick of butter. Wow, This gave it so more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
It was a hit at the pot luck. I did add 8oz. sour cream and 12oz shredded cheddar cheese. It was really good. I will start making this one instead of making it in the oven. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I was very pleased with this recipe. I tried a couple variations based on other's reviews. I ended up with a mixture of the orginal recipe and other's suggestions. I added 1/2 c sour cream, 6 oz. evaporated milk, 1 stick of butter, and 8 slices of bacon (chopped). I omitted the sliced onion. This final recipe got rave reviews. **UPDATE-5/18/10** I still continue to make this recipe when an oven or oven space is not available!!! There are never any leftovers. :) In an attempt to make it more healthy, i made the following adjustments. I used lite sour cream, skim evaporated milk, and omitted the french fried onion. I replaced the bacon with 2T of "Tastefully Simple" Bacon Bacon. even with these changes to my recipe, it got rave reviews. I just love this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Good base recipe. I used 8oz evap milk, 8oz sour cream, 1 can cream of chicken, 2 cups shredded cheddar, 1 stick butter, also some paprika. Wow...it was good...and fattening. :-) Perfect for a holiday when oven space is limited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I took the advice of others. I added 8oz of sour cream, a bit of cajun seasoning, salt, pepper and some 'extra hot' seasoning. I also added a can of golden mushroom soup, a can of cream of chicken soup, a small can of mushroom bits and twice the amount of the french onions. My crockpot runneth over LOL but the potatoes were all gonein no time at all. Excellent!!!!! Since then I have added ham cubes and bacon bits to it and it was an even bigger hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had a brunch for 18 people and this recipe was awesome since my oven was full. I let it cook for nine hours, and since i doubled the recipe, it worked out great. will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I fixed this for Easter and it was the first dish gone...no leftovers! It was so easy and didn't take up oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Just served this today at our company's holiday potluck and it was a hit. They were creamy and tasty. I took some suggestions from others and added sour cream then diced some ham and added that to make it more of a main dish. There's hardly any left! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julielee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This came out nice and creamy for me. (It wasn't swimming in cheese but it wasn't a thick lump either.) While it's not a "wow" recipe for flavor it's a good basic recipe. Served it at my niece's baptism and everyone enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States