Slow Cooker Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
It came out ok but not very good. I had a big lump of potatoes to which I kept adding more milk to keep it from being so lumpy. Still though, it came out to thick but a couple of people did eat it and like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I found this recipe to be too bland in flavor for my families liking. I docotored it up a bit by adding a can of cream of chicken soup, grated cheese (lots), sour cream and spices. This made for a wonderful taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This came out nice and creamy for me. (It wasn't swimming in cheese but it wasn't a thick lump either.) While it's not a "wow" recipe for flavor it's a good basic recipe. Served it at my niece's baptism and everyone enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was just kind of eh. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor and could really have used something. Maybe some salsa or someting? I even used O'Brien potatoes (with onions and green peppers) and it was still pretty blah. Also, cooking this on high for four hours was way too much. The potatoes were almost mush by the time I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I fixed this for Easter and it was the first dish gone...no leftovers! It was so easy and didn't take up oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were bland, so I called my friend who has a recipe that I had made before for these type of potatoes. So I added part of her recipe to it and what a difference this made. Wow. I added to this original recipe 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 green onion (diced),and 1 stick of butter. Wow, This gave it so more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
It was a hit at the pot luck. I did add 8oz. sour cream and 12oz shredded cheddar cheese. It was really good. I will start making this one instead of making it in the oven. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Everyone who tried this enjoyed it at my Christmas Eve buffet. I did add some sour cream and grated cheese based on others' recommendations. I also added a liberal dousing of Old Bay seasoning for flavor. I cooked it on the low setting for 6 hours and it was plenty done. Kind of the consistency of chunky mashed potatoes. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Turned out great! This dish disappeared at the company pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Made this as directed except used one can Southwest Cheddar Jack soup instead of the plain cheddar, and added some grated cheddar jack on top at the beginning. I also ended up doing this in the oven, because I ran out of time for the cooker! I think doing them in the oven might help avoid the "mushy lump" problem someone had. These were just great, the 9x13 pan was emptied. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States