Slow Cooker Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I was very pleased with this recipe. I tried a couple variations based on other's reviews. I ended up with a mixture of the orginal recipe and other's suggestions. I added 1/2 c sour cream, 6 oz. evaporated milk, 1 stick of butter, and 8 slices of bacon (chopped). I omitted the sliced onion. This final recipe got rave reviews. **UPDATE-5/18/10** I still continue to make this recipe when an oven or oven space is not available!!! There are never any leftovers. :) In an attempt to make it more healthy, i made the following adjustments. I used lite sour cream, skim evaporated milk, and omitted the french fried onion. I replaced the bacon with 2T of "Tastefully Simple" Bacon Bacon. even with these changes to my recipe, it got rave reviews. I just love this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was a great recipe. Only thing I added was Cajun Seasoning to suit our taste. Hubby & kids LOVED this one! Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ville Platte, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Made this as directed except used one can Southwest Cheddar Jack soup instead of the plain cheddar, and added some grated cheddar jack on top at the beginning. I also ended up doing this in the oven, because I ran out of time for the cooker! I think doing them in the oven might help avoid the "mushy lump" problem someone had. These were just great, the 9x13 pan was emptied. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Turned out great! This dish disappeared at the company pot luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Everyone who tried this enjoyed it at my Christmas Eve buffet. I did add some sour cream and grated cheese based on others' recommendations. I also added a liberal dousing of Old Bay seasoning for flavor. I cooked it on the low setting for 6 hours and it was plenty done. Kind of the consistency of chunky mashed potatoes. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
It was a hit at the pot luck. I did add 8oz. sour cream and 12oz shredded cheddar cheese. It was really good. I will start making this one instead of making it in the oven. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These were bland, so I called my friend who has a recipe that I had made before for these type of potatoes. So I added part of her recipe to it and what a difference this made. Wow. I added to this original recipe 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 green onion (diced),and 1 stick of butter. Wow, This gave it so more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I fixed this for Easter and it was the first dish gone...no leftovers! It was so easy and didn't take up oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was just kind of eh. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor and could really have used something. Maybe some salsa or someting? I even used O'Brien potatoes (with onions and green peppers) and it was still pretty blah. Also, cooking this on high for four hours was way too much. The potatoes were almost mush by the time I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This came out nice and creamy for me. (It wasn't swimming in cheese but it wasn't a thick lump either.) While it's not a "wow" recipe for flavor it's a good basic recipe. Served it at my niece's baptism and everyone enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States