Slow Cooker Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made these for the Allrecipes Allstars faceless crock-pot recipes challenge. The recipe basically makes a cheese flavored "mashed potato" recipe not hashbrowns. They just start as hashbrowns. I bought a 3oz (larger bag) of french fried onions. I am glad I did, because they need the extra flavor. Instead of doing half, I just cooked 2/3 with the potatoes and did 1/3 on top. For the greasing the inside of the pot I used a butter canola oil blend. I am glad I did that, because that more likely added to the flavor to. The biggest issue I had is it is really salty! Although, it was somewhat expected with the condensed soup. I cooked the potatoes on low for 7 hours overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love this super easy recipe! I have a large crock pot so I always double it. I sometimes substitute one pkg of hashbrowns with onions and peppers and/or a can or two of nacho cheese soup to kick it up a notch. It is always a crowd favorite. I throw it together the night before and then wake up to its amazing aroma in the morning. It would be great for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was very good, but I didn't do the recipe as is. I took other's advice and added 8oz of sour cream, 8oz shredded mild cheddar cheese, a small can of mushroom tidbits, cajun seasoning, salt and pepper. I would've liked to try one person's suggestion of golden mushroom and cream of chicken, but I'm thinking she meant in place of the cheddar cheese soup and I had already put them in....maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Word to the wise: GENEROUSLY grease/butter your crockpot for this recipe. I sprayed mine down with PAM pretty well but obviously not enough because since then I have had to soak my crockpot 4 times before a scour pad could finally pick up the rest. I also gave it one star for taste. Having a quick recipe and/or more oven space is something we are all looking for and therefore we sometimes cut corners. For myself (my husband enjoyed the recipe), I felt like it tasted overly processed and that shouldn't be a surprise by viewing the ingredients--none which are fresh. Using fresher ingredients would of made this taste a lot better and I could of felt better about what I was putting in my body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was good in the slow cooker. I used the recommendations listed in the comments. I didn't have the cream of chick soup, and I think it would have been better with that. needed salt I used cheddar cheese instead of the condensed cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlingeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Used this recipe for my a large group, and it was all gone by the end. Added some things like sour cream and cheese, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had a brunch for 18 people and this recipe was awesome since my oven was full. I let it cook for nine hours, and since i doubled the recipe, it worked out great. will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe is always a hit with our many pot luck dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent. I first made them for a buffet type family dinner. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I thought this was a tastey recipe that could be changed according to tastes with more spices. I loved that it turned out so well in the slow cooker. It was a good side for a dinner I hosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States