Slow Cooker Cheesy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My husband & I were really looking forward to trying this recipe. Unfortunately, we weren't impressed with the results. The 1st time, we made according to directions. We both agreed, They Were Bland! Last night, we made another attempt. This time, we used: Campbell's "Fiesta Nacho Cheese" soup, a few dollops of sour cream, evap milk, French's onions, half bag of shredded chedder, a TBSP! red pepper flakes, garlic cloves and diced up a few fresh jalapenos from the garden. How could anything with So Many zingy ingredients turn out So Tasteless?!? Even with careful mixing, it had the look of vomit and was thin-tasting. I've had better tasting potatoes out of a box. May try 1 more time, using the cream of chicken a reviewer suggested...Otherwise, I am giving this recipe the boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
So easy, the French's onions make the difference. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used shredded cheddar instead of canned cheese (just sounded better)-- next I will try the canned soup as it tasted pretty bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Add 8 oz sour cream and a cup of cheddar cheese - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I think this recipe is wonderful, and I think you, Renee. After reading the reviews, I took it upon myself to see about adding more 'something'. I do a lot of cooking not measuring anything...and just going for it. With that being said, I added a scoop of sour cream (looked like maybe 2/3 cup). I also added cut-up squares of a variety of cheese that I wanted to use before going bad. Then I saw that on the shelf, I had a small bag of real bacon bits...and I used all of that. And then, hoping it would be too much liquid, I added a can of cream of chicken soup. NOTE: I did use everything in Renee's recipe. I just added to it. Our company said it was REAL good. I asked my hubby what he thought, and he said he won't change anything. Even my real picky son ate it (I was really surprised and happy :) )So, I guess it was definitely a hit. Thanks again, Renee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Tasted good - word to the wise, if you double it, make sure you have over 4 hrs of cook time. I took suggestions and added sour cream, green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving but had revamped the recipe using the tips from other reviewers. Having it in the crockpot freed up the oven for other dishes and made it super easy. Instead of cheese soup, I used 2 cups of shredded cheddar and I used more French onions than the recipe called for (I don't know exactly... the bigger container). I added 8 oz of sour cream and a can of cream of chicken soup. I also added a can of mushroom bits and a can of golden cream of mushroom soup. I also added half a stick of butter and some southwest seasoning. It turned out too spicy and too mushy. What I would do differently next time is use regular hashed brown potatoes, skip the mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup, and use half a cup of sour cream. Then I would season with salt and pepper to taste rather than the southwest seasoning. Maybe also use 3 cups of cheddar too. Went really well with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Quast

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Easy to prepare, just not that tasty :( followed directions perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
huge hit, I used shredded hashbrowns with green and red peppers and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States