Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Easy meal to make. And tastes great too! The only thing though is that the recipe didn't say if the stock you used in the slow cooker needed to go into the soup mixture. I made it without it this time, as I thought there would be too much liquid. Nevertheless, I was hoping that the tortillas would have been soaked up with the soup and cheese, but they turned out a bit dry. In this case I thought that you really don't need the rice. The casserole was good how it was. Next time though, I will add the chicken stock used to cook the chicken and put it in with the remaining chicken stock and soup mixture. I expect the tortillas to soak up any extra liquid so that the casserole will still come out with a good texture and not be too runny. I'm already looking forward to another batch! Good stuff!! A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I really liked this recipe but made a few changes...I added a bit of hot sauce instead of the taco seasoning...and a can of Rotel...it was great...i don't think the rice is really needed because the tortillas provide enough carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I thought it was kind of weird to put flour tortilla pieces into the chicken and then serve over rice. I was wrong, it tasted very good and was something the whole family enjoyed (but who wouldn't love something with FOUR CUPS of cheese). I made no adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I liked 1/2 of this recipe...hence 3 stars. I didn't like it served over the rice. I think the chicken mixture would be superb as an enchilada instead of the tortillas being cut into strips. If I make it again I'm modifying it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Tasty but a little too moist. Next time I'll cut down on the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good. I cooked the chicken on the stove in order to prepare it sooner. I halved the cheese and it was still very cheesy. I added green peppers which helped, but next time I will try adding more veggies to make it a more rounded dish. (Perhaps mushrooms/onions/more peppers?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this tonight with a few changes to make due with what I had on hand. Used chicken boullion, made my own taco seasonings because I was out. Added beer for both flavor and tenderizing properties. Used chopped chillis, sour cream and used tortilla chips instead of soft ones. This absorbs excess soupiness and holds it together for easier cutting and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Only used 1 can of cream/chicken. I think I'll use less than 10 tortillas next time and less cheese (a little overwhelming). Made it with the rice, but it doesn't need the rice; it's good by itself. Will think of adding corn and black beans next time to give it even more flavor. It would actually be good to make and use as a burrito or soft taco also (if tortillas left out of casserole). Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre Wiggins Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My family loves this and it's so easy to make the day before or even freeze then bake when your ready to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this tonight and really liked it! I added black beans as some other reviewers suggested. It has a good flavor, but you could definitely jazz it up if desired. I wouldn't put it over rice as the recipe states--it already has tortillas in it, we ate it as is, like a casserole. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States