Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Very easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this recipe with some mods. Due to the numerous suggestions to use less liquid, during step #4, I only mixed a half cup of chicken stock in with the soup, remaining taco seasoning, etc. I also added some garlic and cayenne pepper to the butter. I served this casserole style without the rice and my family raved about it! I will be making this again...very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Limings
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
this recipe was so delicious. This is a keeper. My 8 yr old daughter who is really picky even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My kid who hates everything loves it! Winner winner chicken dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Everyone loved it! I followed other instructions to add 1 can of green chile peppers & black beans. Used a can of cream of chicken & then one can's worth of sour cream. Added 1 cup of water & some Better than Bouillon (chicken) instead of the broth. I had chicken all ready shredded so I didn't follow the first crockpot aspect. Used 6 taco-sized shells. Also added the onion, garlic & other mexican seasonings (cumin, cayenne, & ancho chile pepper). 9x13pan for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy14_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Its a great recipe. The thing I did was add chopped cilantro in between the layers, after putting the cheese on. We are going to add green onion to it the next time as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Faulkner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made this the other night, with a few modifications, and it was a hit! Firstly, I bought a 3lb jumbo rotisserie chicken, removed the skin and wings, and shredded the rest of it instead of slow-cooking breasts. I added one can of campbell's soup, 1.5 packs of mild taco seasoning, and 2 cups of chicken stock. I layered it as described above, but I added a layer of drained, seasoned, black beans on top of the chicken mixture. I then added chopped, fresh tomatoes to the final layer of cheese. I think a layer of drained corn would be a nice addition as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Easy meal to make. And tastes great too! The only thing though is that the recipe didn't say if the stock you used in the slow cooker needed to go into the soup mixture. I made it without it this time, as I thought there would be too much liquid. Nevertheless, I was hoping that the tortillas would have been soaked up with the soup and cheese, but they turned out a bit dry. In this case I thought that you really don't need the rice. The casserole was good how it was. Next time though, I will add the chicken stock used to cook the chicken and put it in with the remaining chicken stock and soup mixture. I expect the tortillas to soak up any extra liquid so that the casserole will still come out with a good texture and not be too runny. I'm already looking forward to another batch! Good stuff!! A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I really liked this recipe but made a few changes...I added a bit of hot sauce instead of the taco seasoning...and a can of Rotel...it was great...i don't think the rice is really needed because the tortillas provide enough carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I thought it was kind of weird to put flour tortilla pieces into the chicken and then serve over rice. I was wrong, it tasted very good and was something the whole family enjoyed (but who wouldn't love something with FOUR CUPS of cheese). I made no adjustments to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States