Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made it and it was great but I have one question... it is unclear whether you add the broth that was used to cook the chicken in back into the final pot. I did and it made A LOT. Serves more than 6. The next time I make it, I will try not adding that back in and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good as is, but next time I will add black beans. I cooked this in a glass 8x8 dish, but it bubbled over, so of course i will be using a different casserole dish next time as well, but an over all hit with every member of my family. Will definitely be put in our monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Super yummy comfort food. Just watch the salt. Would be best with low sodium taco seasoning and low sodium soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I think this recipe is a great base to experiment with. I knew that I'd find it bland as written, so I made a few changes. I sauteed some onion and garlic in the butter. Then added a cup of salsa, a can of black beans, and some green chilis. I then reduced the amount of chicken broth substantially. I was happy with the results, especially the leftovers. Next time I'll skip the small can of green chilis and instead add roasted poblano peppers, cilantro, and some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe was really good. It made a huge amount. I made it in one of those large foil pans. I drained a can of Rotel and added that to the top before the last layer of cheese. I also added black beans. The next time I make it, I will add some garlic to the sauted butter and maybe a few peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Tasty but a little too moist. Next time I'll cut down on the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My kid who hates everything loves it! Winner winner chicken dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this tonight with a few changes to make due with what I had on hand. Used chicken boullion, made my own taco seasonings because I was out. Added beer for both flavor and tenderizing properties. Used chopped chillis, sour cream and used tortilla chips instead of soft ones. This absorbs excess soupiness and holds it together for easier cutting and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Good. I cooked the chicken on the stove in order to prepare it sooner. I halved the cheese and it was still very cheesy. I added green peppers which helped, but next time I will try adding more veggies to make it a more rounded dish. (Perhaps mushrooms/onions/more peppers?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Only used 1 can of cream/chicken. I think I'll use less than 10 tortillas next time and less cheese (a little overwhelming). Made it with the rice, but it doesn't need the rice; it's good by itself. Will think of adding corn and black beans next time to give it even more flavor. It would actually be good to make and use as a burrito or soft taco also (if tortillas left out of casserole). Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre Wiggins Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States