Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I used a 3 lb sirloin tip roast and since I only eat very well done meat cooked it until it fell apart in the pot(about 7 hrs) then let it hang out for another hour in the broth. I think this dries it out some so I also use a sauce on the sandwiches but that's not to say it would have been dry if cooked to medium as the recipe instructed. I did not wrap and reheat the whole sandwich because we didn't have time. I just toasted the buns and used shredded cheese so it would melt from the heat of the meat and veggies, which I cooked slowly in foil on the grill til soft. The meat wasn't that flavorful, in my opinion but we'll see how the leftovers are. Overall, I like the cooking method but will try to get more flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Everyone loved them! I didn't have red wine vinegar on hand so I used dry white wine vinegar instead. I used thawed frozen peppers and onions to save in slicing but next time I will definitely use fresh. My husband said it was a tad bit dry so with the leftover juices I plan on making a super thick gravy to drizzle over each one after they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
really, really good!! my husband loved it. very flavorful, and so easy.I even tryed it using tri tip I had left over from a bbq,I just put the meat in a skillet with the broth to slowly reheat it and then did everything else the recipe said and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This recipe made for some tasty cheesesteaks. I used provolone cheese and multi-colored peppers because of my family's taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this is my first review after making several things on this website. This sandwich is great! My husband accidently grabbed beef stock instead of chicken, so i put beef stock in the ingredient finder and this looked good. the beef is super easy to cook since it's in a crockpot and cooking the veggies only takes a few minutes. I don't even eat beef but had to try one of these after they came out of the oven and looked so delicious! only change i made was to use provolone cheese instead of american. Wonderful recipe, will absolutely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great idea but I think a little over the top as far as using a better cut of meat. I used bottom round steaks cut from a bottom round roast. Inexpensive and works well. I cooked the steaks in chicken stalk (all I had) and onions on high in my crock pot until meat started to fall apart. I pulled the meat apart (like pulled pork) mixed in 3 ladle fulls of the juice and let it sit while I cooked the onions, peppers and mushrooms. Placed on toasted rolls with cheese and mustard and broiled to melt cheese. Very tasty, tender and the family raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I think it lacked a little flavor in the meat but was a great way ti have a different cheesesteak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Living on the west coast from Philly, not easy to come across a good philly...made this with french rolls (bc we dont have italian) and it is definitely a keeper. Everyone enjoyed the sandwich. I did cook for only 3 hours, I think next time I will cook on low for 3 hours instead, i like a some color in my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Mouth Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was freaking delicious! I cooked the meat exactly 3 hours and it was nice and juicy. Omitted the peppers since my husband doesn't like them and I added Worcester to the mushrooms and onions. It was also easy to make which is great for me since I usually can't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Well, I tried this and it was not to my liking! The meat was dry, tough and tasteless. I made only two sandwiches and couldn't eat more. Don't make this just go to a good sub shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States