Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Very good! I definitely would read the first review from the owner of this recipe. I used a 2.6 lb trip tip steak and it was way overcooked after 4 hours. Next time I will do only 3 hours. I also made sure to add the 1 T of red wine vinegar that was suppose to be listed in the recipe. The white American cheese was so good on this! And definitely put two slices of cheese on each sandwich because once it melts you will want extra! Thanks for sharing a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very yummy! I made it without the mushrooms (because I don't like them), and the recipe turned out great. Used sourdough rolls and colby jack cheese that I had on hand - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Good stuff - passed the test by my wife, who is originally from Philly. I used half the recommended peppers, but didn't skimp on the onion. After taking it out of the slow cooker and breaking it up, I mixed the meat in the same skillet as my peppers and onion and then mixed in the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The meat was amazing. I think I will use the beef broth used for this in more then just this dish. I had to use hot dog buns though as my kids don't eat that much. Next time I will use the hoagie roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very Yummy! I used 3.5 pounds of tri tip steak to feed 8 & doubled the rest! It was loved by the adults as well as the kiddos! My husband asked this recipe to be a part of the monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My husband and I found this dish rather bland. I was a bit concerned about this seeing that it called for no seasoning on the meat or the veggies, so I even added salt and pepper to the grilled veggies. We also used pepper jack cheese and used the leftover broth for dipping but overall the sandwiches just seemed lacking in flavor. If I were to make this again, I would brown the meat first with some garlic salt and pepper and maybe even some flour and then place in crock pot. I find from making roasts in the past with tri tip that this tends to seal in the juices. Definitely found 3.5 hours was plenty of time for the meat. It was still pretty tender (not chewy thankfully) but already dry and cooked through. I think the leftovers are going to make some awesome fajitas tomorrow, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My boyfriend loved this! Be sure to ask your butcher if tri tip steak is available - it wasn't at our store, and the butcher was able to suggest a different cut. We left out the mushrooms (he's not a fan of them), but I will definitely add them to mine next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I had to defer to the cheese steak expert (Mr. LTH) on this one. I asked him for a star rating and he said, "4.5". I would say 4, so we'll average them together and call it 4. I followed the recipe with the exception of the cut of meat. I did not have tri tip, so I substituted Sirloin Top Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe because I bought a 3 pack of tri tips that was on sale and needed some new ways to make it!! This was really good! I didn't use the mushrooms, just because I didn't have any on hand. I love a good sandwich :) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Well, I tried this and it was not to my liking! The meat was dry, tough and tasteless. I made only two sandwiches and couldn't eat more. Don't make this just go to a good sub shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cheese Steaks

The slow cooker is the best way to make perfectly tender cheese steaks.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States