Slow Cooker Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Very good chai! I couldn't find green cardamom pods, so I used the dried seeds I had in the cupboard, and I subbed white peppercorns for black (used more than three!). Threw in a couple allspice berries, and floated a star anise on top for looks at serving time. Came out excellent, I am enjoying the chilled leftovers before work, thanks for the recipe Seneca_S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Made as the recipe states, except I added 1 cup mix white/brown sugar and milk. Does not taste like the delicious chai tea lattes I get at Indian restaurants, but it is good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe for a cold weather treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it is delicious! I use a tea ball for the spices, so I don't have to strain it. In the summertime I keep a pitcher of it in the fridge and drink it iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is the only tea I drink now. This recipe is so good I make it every week or so, depending on when I run out. I drink one cup of this every morning. My modifications are just that when I make it, I add four tea bags of any kind of tea (usually four bags of Tazo brand Chai flavor and four bags of another like Tazo brand orange tea). I then store all of my tea in the refrigerator, and I also do not add any sweetened condensed milk until I warm up a cup. I used to freeze half of the brew, but the ice-formed tea seems to be slightly different in taste and quality to me, so now I just put it in the refrigerator. Each morning, I scoop out enough of the refrigerated tea to warm up in a pan on the stovetop for a cup of tea. Once heated, I take one heaping teaspoonful of sweetened condensed milk and pour the hot tea over that and stir it in. I pretty much followed the recipe as given, but sometimes I add a star anise or two. I really don't notice any difference in flavor for adding it though. It's the best tea I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I added more pepper, more ginger (we like it spicier) and I substituted nutmeg for cardamom because cardamom is super expensive! It still came out well. I also was a little weirded out by the milk so I only added half a can and I found that it was plenty! I think a whole can would have made it too sweet and thick. You can always add more milk if you like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I added in 5 star anise and 5 allspice berries. drinking it right now (without tea) with almond milk, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We made this for Christmas day and it was a big hit. We did some variations. First we let the tea bags sit in the slow cooker for 4 hours or so with the spices. It made the tea nice and smooth (decaf). Instead of fresh ginger we used about a tablespoon of the dry stuff. We also used dried cardamom and about half the cloves. We did included nutmeg. Wow! we will be using this recipe often and avoid the long and expensive lines at that well known coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe! I use ground spices because I have them on hand, and used some of the other reviewers ideas like adding vanilla. I have been making it every 3 days, each time slightly different. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! Followed it correctly, but only added 6 tea bags and added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Heated up a cup in the microwave the next day after refrigerating and it was so delicious! Didn't need to add creamer or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States