Slow Cooker Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is the only tea I drink now. This recipe is so good I make it every week or so, depending on when I run out. I drink one cup of this every morning. My modifications are just that when I make it, I add four tea bags of any kind of tea (usually four bags of Tazo brand Chai flavor and four bags of another like Tazo brand orange tea). I then store all of my tea in the refrigerator, and I also do not add any sweetened condensed milk until I warm up a cup. I used to freeze half of the brew, but the ice-formed tea seems to be slightly different in taste and quality to me, so now I just put it in the refrigerator. Each morning, I scoop out enough of the refrigerated tea to warm up in a pan on the stovetop for a cup of tea. Once heated, I take one heaping teaspoonful of sweetened condensed milk and pour the hot tea over that and stir it in. I pretty much followed the recipe as given, but sometimes I add a star anise or two. I really don't notice any difference in flavor for adding it though. It's the best tea I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I added more pepper, more ginger (we like it spicier) and I substituted nutmeg for cardamom because cardamom is super expensive! It still came out well. I also was a little weirded out by the milk so I only added half a can and I found that it was plenty! I think a whole can would have made it too sweet and thick. You can always add more milk if you like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I added in 5 star anise and 5 allspice berries. drinking it right now (without tea) with almond milk, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We made this for Christmas day and it was a big hit. We did some variations. First we let the tea bags sit in the slow cooker for 4 hours or so with the spices. It made the tea nice and smooth (decaf). Instead of fresh ginger we used about a tablespoon of the dry stuff. We also used dried cardamom and about half the cloves. We did included nutmeg. Wow! we will be using this recipe often and avoid the long and expensive lines at that well known coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkimble24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe! I use ground spices because I have them on hand, and used some of the other reviewers ideas like adding vanilla. I have been making it every 3 days, each time slightly different. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Loved this recipe! Followed it correctly, but only added 6 tea bags and added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Heated up a cup in the microwave the next day after refrigerating and it was so delicious! Didn't need to add creamer or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used A LOT of spices and will keep this spiced water as a base to make tea. I'm freezing some of it and putting the rest in the refrig. When I'm ready for my chai I can prepare 1 cup at a time. I heat it up, add the tea bag as usual. After steeping I add milk and perhaps sugar. Actually tastes much like the chai tea bags I purchase but this is much healthier! (I forgot the ginger and will add it next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Am a little suprised that so many people said this was good. Not spicey enough and the sweetened condensed milk adds a totally different flavor. Does not taste like a traditional Chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My slow cooker is small so I only made half of this recipe. I added all of the ingredients (except for peppercorns...I didnt have any) and put it on low around 10pm so I could enjoy it around 7am the next morning. The chai tasted GREAT. I added the condensed milk little by little so I could avoid having it taste too sweet. This tastes just like the Starbucks version, but a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is a great base recipe for Chai that I will use again and again. I intend to make a batch each weekend and store it in the fridge to save on calories (and money) for Chai from the coffee shop! Comparatively, this recipe is pretty low calorie. 90 cal per serving compared to 240 cal for a grande Chai latte at Starbucks. My first batch had a good balance of spices, but was just a little sweet for my family's liking. I think next time I make it, I'll use 3/4 of the sweetened condensed milk rather than the whole can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States