Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I gave one star because it was easy as author stated. Used chicken broth instead of white wine, otherwise followed recipe. We found it way too bland with too much bean taste. The chicken was mushy instead of tender. The broth was just bean flavored juice. I served with a crusty delicious french bread. The bread was great, the other not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani Le

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Wasn't real pretty to look at, but tasted good. I only used 1 can of beans (navy). I did have to add more liquid through the day of cooking (chicken broth every once in awhile to prevent from drying out. I did add celery and some poultry season and old bay like other people suggested. Served with rice on side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Way too salty and all i could taste was the kielbasa. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful base recipe for this classic dish!Any one can customize it to their taste. I used chicken thighs and pork smoked sausage. I also used canned drained great northern beans and pinto beans. I added a chicken boullion cube and chicken broth instead of wine. I love herb blends so I used a country herb blend and poultry seasoning. I love spice so I used seaasoning salt and red pepper flakes. I added celery, carrots, and chunked tomatoes. It was a fabulous meal. I served it with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvywall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: East Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Let's face it, dishes made in the slow cooker are rarely as good as food that's cooked on the stove, in the oven, or grilled. This recipe is worth its weight. I used chicken stock in lieu of white wine, and turkey kilbaska in lieu or pork. I cooked it 10 hours on low. It wasn't dry or bland. Yes, it will taste better if you take the time to saute the kilbaska and onion beforehand. But, as written, this meal is simple, nutritious, and perfect for a busy work day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was excellent! I used a chardonnay for this and let it simmer for about six hours on low. I did serve it with the crusty bread and a nice green salad. I had enough liquid in the slow cooker to make this stew-like and the flavors were wonderful. I did use regular kielbasa, which is not as figure friendly, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was really nothing to write home about. I had a good flavor but the beans did nothing for us. Just gave a weird texture. My husband and I ended thowing most of it out because no one would finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsuemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is a great dish and I make it often. I will put it into the crockpot just before we leave for church and when we get home it is perfectly done. I rarely have more than a bean left over. The flavor is wonderful and I haven't had to change a thing. The turkey kielbasa keeps the calories and fat down but the flavor doesn't suffer. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was suprprisingly good! Even my husband liked it, and he usually objects to anything with beans in it. The only thing I did differently was I used Thyme instead of parsley (I like thyme). The flavors just melded together really nicely, it was easy, and even the kids liked it! And when I asked, "should I make this again?" I got three 'yes'es!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
As written I am giving this recipe a 3, but it has potential to be a 5 star. Thanks to other reviewers I added more seasoning--2 onions and four cloves of garlic as well as 2 teaspoons of Old Bay seasoning. I cut back on the salt. The liquid was a bit of a problem. I started out adding the 1/3 cup of wine, but soon realized that more liquid was needed. I then added about a cup of chicken stock as one reviewer suggested, but that may have been too much as the end product was almost like soup. I would suggest adding an additional 1/2 cup of liquid and see if that is enough. I served over rice and it was very tasty and quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States