Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This recipe is a big yes. Every recipe is flexible; I take "to your taste" very seriously. With that in mind, I knew the kielbasa wasn't what I wanted. I used italian sausage -- the mild, or "sweet" kind, not hot Italian. (Although, I think that might be good too, in a different way.) Many people (most men) don't care for breast meat because it tends to be bland and dry. I use boneless thighs. Garlic: use more, or add it for the last hour or two. Garlic flavor cooks away. Many seasonings do. Crock-pot: don't lift the lid, don't stir, do not disturb. Suppress your natural cook's tendency to check the pot. Slow-cookers only work one way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I found this boring. Too many beans; missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was very bland. I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. Did not taste anything like an authentic cassoulet. I'm sure with some tweaking it could improve, but I wouldn't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made it just as the recipe shows, except for the parsley - I subbed dried as I didn't have any fresh. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Good, but way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I'd actually give this 3 stars for when I followed the recipe exactly as written; maybe I did something wrong but the chicken was very dry and the beans were mushy, but the overall flavor was good. With a few changes, I give it 5 stars. I doubled the wine, skipped the salt, added a can of diced tomatoes, a couple tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, and 1/4 tsp thyme and waited to add the beans until 1-2 hours before serving. Most important, I used whole chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts so they were MUCH more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Reviewed the wrong recipe. Sorry. I do have it saved to make this fall or winter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I loved it. I used ground pork sausage instead because it is what I had. It was extremely flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was ok, not bad, just not very distinguisable from other dishes I've made recently. It would have been better if I had added potatos instead of carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States