Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe was fantastic, delicious and easy to make. I couldn't find turkey kielbasa so used sweet Italian turkey sausage. I served it over brown rice with thick bread to soak up the juice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Used chicken stock instead of wine. This was a wonderful slow cooker version of cassoulet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was a good recipe! It was a bit salty, so next time I will omit the salt it calls for, but I will make it again! It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very good and very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used andouille sausage and I browned all of the meat first. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to it. I think it needed that acidic bite to balance out the dish. I also added some bay leaves to it. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was a great! i took the advice of others and added 1 cup of chicken broth plus 1 bay leaf. i used 2+ chicken breasts and 2 large boneless thighs and cooked on low for 7 hours (2 pounds of chix would have been too much). No need to cut the chicken, it ends up breaking up easily once it's cooked. i subbed dried parsley for the fresh. With the added broth, it turns out more like a hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I used turkey broth instead of wine it worked out just fine. Try cooking, on low, for only 4 hours instead of 5-6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I prepared this recipe correctly, it's just not for us. It's okay and we'll eat the rest, but I don't think I'll make it again. The flavors just aren't our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
One of my favorites! I sometimes leave out the salt however, since the kielbasa is salty enough as it is :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
reasonalbe starting place, i use red wine, whatever i'm going to drink for dinner. It needs another onion, it needs a pound of chunked carrots. I use beans soaked over nite, northern white usually, needs lots of spices, someone suggested tyme, excellent, sweet basil, rosemary - all good. it wont work without wine, i agree. I use chicken thighs, and lamb sausage or sweet Italian. Add some chopped celery in the last 30 minutes. and a can of tomatoes, whatever is in the cupboard. my favorite are stewed Italian. if you have time check the amount of juice in the last hour, this is not intended to be a stew, as others have noted. I have not seen an advantage to cooking this in a slow cooker over a slow oven. Unless you do not have an oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States