Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made this Friday night for dinner. Everything I used in this recipe was bought at Grocery Outlet, even a good local wine for 2.99! I used organic cannellini beans and omitted the salt. I really enjoyed this as did my husband, great basic flavors of each ingredient all coming together nicely. My kids didn't care for it but that meant there was more for me the next day. The crusty bread is a must have with this dish to sop up all those juices, cooksforfourty is absolutely right. And you know, I think this was even better the next day, if that was possible. So simple and so comforting. Thank you SO much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The whole family really enjoyed this for dinner last night. I subbed chicken broth for the white wine. I used canned navy beans, they kind of dissapeared while it was cooking. The chicken and sausage was so good!! I served with mashed potatoes on the side. This would be good ontop of egg noodles too. I will def. make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
5 Stars! But I did make a couple changes to suit my family. First, used mild italian sausage and browned meats before adding to crock pot - not necessary, but does add a nice flavor. Second - Added 1 cup chicken stock along with the wine for more sauce. Last - thickened the juices with water and corn starch before serving. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good slow cooker recipe, but it had a lot of meat compared to the other ingredients. Adding one more can of beans would help round it out a bit and maybe reduce the chicken to 1 1/2 lbs. I substituted 1 tsp. dried thyme for the parsley. At 5 hours the chicken was overcooked but the cassoulet wasn't thickened yet. Good flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
thanks for sharing the great recipe! It was awesome, had amazing taste for very little work! Did everything as you said, except used chicken broth instead of white wine. make sure you pick up some great bread for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was good, but too salty. I will make again and omit salt entirely. Could not find cannellini beans - used butter beans and they were excellent. Could not find turkey kielbasa so used regular but the low fat kind. Very good with some tweaking, and certainly very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
As per previous reviews of this being too salty, I held back on salting it. I will next time use the chicken broth instead of the wine. I subbed great northern beans instead of the cannelini, and i did end up salting it a bit at the end. My recipe did not start to "break down" and thicken until about the 7th hour. I did use bone in breast/ that's what I had on hand and prefer to use since they dont dry out as bad. Served this with "ali's amazing bruschetta" also from this site. This was a great dinner on a end of the season surprise cold night. Thank you for sharing!! It was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yum! I didn't add parsley but added a tsp or so of dried thyme. I served it with roasted potatoes and sauteed cabbage. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it. When I first told him the ingredients, he felt it would be bland. After tasting it he enjoyed it quite alot. He didn't even add hot sauce to it, which he adds to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this last night for tonights dinner. It was so easy to prepare and it was delicious. The whole family really enjoyed it. It's has that comfort food texture. Highly recommend it. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States