Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, except for omiting the salt and for adding 1 chicken bullion cube into it. It disolved nicely and it added the salt the recipe called for. I served it with honey brandied baby carrots and homemade fruit cocktail along with french bread and honey butter. My girlfriend's family loved it, and it was a easy menu to do buffet style, informal, yet understated elegance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A good addition to my recipe box...husband liked it a lot although the kids were not crazy about the chicken. The chicken DID come out kind of dry - and I followed directions. Next time I might mix the chicken into the sausage and beans more, or will brown it slightly first to seal in juices. It had a stronger flavor than I had anticipated but was very filling and easy to make. I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I liked the taste but mine was very dry. I may have cooked it too long. I think I will try it again and cook less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I didn't like this. The texture and look were bland and the flavor unpalateable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was just okay in my book. After reading the reviews before making this, I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and omitted the salt completely but still felt it was too salty (due to the keilbasa). One other change I made was that I put my boneless, skinless chicken breast halves in whole - which kept them moist and juicy. When they were done, I was able to just break up the breasts into bite sized chunks with a fork. Also - I subbed the dry wine for chicken broth because its what I had on hand. I would probably make this again someday, but will probably omit the kielbasa completely or sub it with meat all toghether. All in all, not bad - but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe was disapointing. I thought as it was, it was dry and not very flavorful. I ended up using more spices and herbs and adding chicken broth and twice as much wine. I won't make it again. I'd rather have bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Really good recipe with a little tweaking. The cassoulet recipe I usually use is not a slow cooker one so this turned out to be helpful. I used 2 pkgs of Polish Kielbasa, chicken breat tenderloins that I chopped into chunks, and instead of wine, I used organic veggie broth. I add a little more than 2 cups of the broth so it has more of a "stoup" consistency. Usually I use giant butter beans but I was out so today my cassoulet was beanless. :) I also add bacon crumbled on top. MMmmmm, not healthy but sure will be good on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liztx8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Eh.. this was fair - I thought it was relatively decent, but my husband yucked at it. I used chorizo as was suggested in a review... it gave a nice smoky flavor but it got very crumbly, almost sawdusty weird texture. Here are some changes I made: during the last 2 or so hours of cooking, I threw a package of frozen potato-onion pierogies on top of the mix to add in a carb. Also I served it with crispy french fried onions when i plated it up. I didn't have parsely so I used fresh rosemary as the cooking spice and added some italian seasoning. Here's what I would do if I make this again (which honestly I doubt I will..): instead of using actual sausage, I would suggest a nice smoky ham bone... and for some reason I kept thinking this was crying for okra. I would suggest adding maybe a tad more liquid too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheezie
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Loved the recipe, house smelled so good all day. Topped mine with some oven roasted asparagus just to make sure we got our vegetables. Did slow cook for 8 hrs, and came out perfect. Bought a loaf of french bread just like suggested, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Did everything according to the recipe, but for some reason the beans broke down into a complete gloppy mess. Fortunately my company was close family, or this could have been embarrassing! The flavor was good, but the consistency was starchy & way too thick. Next time I will cook it the same way, but add the beans an hour or so before it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States