Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
No one in my family liked this, and we are not generally picky. The combination of chicken, kielbasa and beans was just wrong in regards to texture and flavor. The aftertaste was terrible and stuck with us all night long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was really good. My husband seldom likes food that is all cooked together but he was really suprised at how good this is. I used a can of Campbell's Soup Chicken Broth and a splash of white wine. I mixed some flour and water mixed in a cup then poured into the crock pot and turned on high. Worked really great. Will be making this often. I enjoy reading reviews and often use the changes suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I loved it, great flavor and simple recipe. I added a tiny pinch of basil and used chicken broth in place of the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was just awesome. I seasoned my chickent breast pieces with s/p & poultry seasoning before giving it a quick brown in a pan with a little olive oil. I threw everything else together in the crock pot substituting ckn broth for the wine, dried parsley for fresh, 5 garlic cloves (we love garlic :)and some dried marjoram, oregano, & a few bay leaves. Cooked on high for 5 hours. Served with some sour cream mashed potatoes and honey glazed carrots. We ate dinner in near silence as this was just so good! I'll try it w/wine next time and fresh herbs from the garden. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was a huge hit in my home. I made it for dinner and we all loved it. It was delicious! And I am sure I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly, except for omiting the salt and for adding 1 chicken bullion cube into it. It disolved nicely and it added the salt the recipe called for. I served it with honey brandied baby carrots and homemade fruit cocktail along with french bread and honey butter. My girlfriend's family loved it, and it was a easy menu to do buffet style, informal, yet understated elegance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A good addition to my recipe box...husband liked it a lot although the kids were not crazy about the chicken. The chicken DID come out kind of dry - and I followed directions. Next time I might mix the chicken into the sausage and beans more, or will brown it slightly first to seal in juices. It had a stronger flavor than I had anticipated but was very filling and easy to make. I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I liked the taste but mine was very dry. I may have cooked it too long. I think I will try it again and cook less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I didn't like this. The texture and look were bland and the flavor unpalateable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was just okay in my book. After reading the reviews before making this, I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and omitted the salt completely but still felt it was too salty (due to the keilbasa). One other change I made was that I put my boneless, skinless chicken breast halves in whole - which kept them moist and juicy. When they were done, I was able to just break up the breasts into bite sized chunks with a fork. Also - I subbed the dry wine for chicken broth because its what I had on hand. I would probably make this again someday, but will probably omit the kielbasa completely or sub it with meat all toghether. All in all, not bad - but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States