Slow Cooker Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This was suprprisingly good! Even my husband liked it, and he usually objects to anything with beans in it. The only thing I did differently was I used Thyme instead of parsley (I like thyme). The flavors just melded together really nicely, it was easy, and even the kids liked it! And when I asked, "should I make this again?" I got three 'yes'es!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
As written I am giving this recipe a 3, but it has potential to be a 5 star. Thanks to other reviewers I added more seasoning--2 onions and four cloves of garlic as well as 2 teaspoons of Old Bay seasoning. I cut back on the salt. The liquid was a bit of a problem. I started out adding the 1/3 cup of wine, but soon realized that more liquid was needed. I then added about a cup of chicken stock as one reviewer suggested, but that may have been too much as the end product was almost like soup. I would suggest adding an additional 1/2 cup of liquid and see if that is enough. I served over rice and it was very tasty and quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The flavor was good once I added a cup of chicken stock and 1/2 cup wine. Otherwise it was dry and disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Like others I used chicken legs rather than breasts, because it tastes better. Also, I started out with dry beans rather than canned, which gave me a lot more control over the end flavor. I used beef broth, chicken broth, and white wine, in equal parts to cook my beans in. Then I added 3 baby leeks finely chopped in place of half of the onion, and added 1/2 TBSP of thyme. It was amazingly delicious! Cassoulet is one of those dishes that everyone has their own recipe for, so I think this recipe is more to let people know that it can be made in a slow cooker and give us the times and ratios, which I appreciate greatly. As far as the "dryness" others complained of, cassoulet isn't soup. This is the texture it's supposed to be. Thanks so much cooks4forty for this innovative and unusually healthful take on cassoulet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I liked it, but my husband and teenage son were not enthusiastic. My son thought it was too soupy; my husband thought it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
lacked flavor and I even added Herbs de Provence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Awesome! Used regular smoked sausage instead of turkey sausage and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was not good at all. Horrible combination (sausage and chicken).. We Gave the food away and went out to eat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
After reading the reviews I was skeptical about this but went ahead and made it anyways. I made it pretty much exactly as written except used chicken broth instead of wine, therefore I did NOT add any salt. This came out pretty good, tasted kind of like bean soup with sausage and chicken in it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I give this one star for how easy it was to throw together and let cook all day, but I can honestly say that none of us would try it. It didn't even smell good. The combination of these ingredients just didn't work together. such a complete waste of money and food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States